FluidPlugin Alpha out(CHECK OTHER THREAD)

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:32 am

Cool effect. Looks great when you fly through the particles, displacing them.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,844
Reputation: 48,289

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:01 pm

So will there be an option for decreasing the grid size? Cause it looks very blocky when the gas is created.

EDIT: oh yeah, I forgot to say...

THAT IS THE COOLEST GODAMN PLUGIN EVER THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:07 pm

thanks guys
and you're welcome,

btw here's the version with the blur effect so you can see how it looks:

[url:39asulrf]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1013446/mantis/rocketblurred.rar[/url:39asulrf]
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:13 pm

Are you sure your not a professional games developer.If not you should be.Your'e a genius.Keep up the good work.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:29 pm

Lucid, do you have the license for being awesome?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:30 pm

Wow... that is very nice! I'd say multicore is an essential feature, otherwise you simply won't get the performance out of it, and quad cores are becoming more common, so a 4x speedup would be great. The resolution is a bit blocky, but the blur covers it up really nicely.

Also, why hijack a sprite mesh? If you're using set distort map actions in the event sheet editor, that's going to hammer the performance unnecessarily. Why not have your plugin draw the mesh itself?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:03 pm

[quote="Ashley":3hast8as]Wow... that is very nice! I'd say multicore is an essential feature, otherwise you simply won't get the performance out of it, and quad cores are becoming more common, so a 4x speedup would be great. The resolution is a bit blocky, but the blur covers it up really nicely.

Also, why hijack a sprite mesh? If you're using set distort map actions in the event sheet editor, that's going to hammer the performance unnecessarily. Why not have your plugin draw the mesh itself?[/quote:3hast8as]
I got the multicore working, I juust need to add the code to autodetect the number of cores

As far as the distort mesh, I meant you could just set a sprite to apply it to like a behavior and it would do it behind the scenes without actions in the event editor. As far as why I don't do it myself. The only way id know how is to copy paste all the sprite code,
Which I guess could work, but it'd still be cool for plugs to be able to hijack meshes, not just for this plugin. it would work well with davos ribbon plugin, for example
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:36 pm

The blur helps out quite a bit. Why even bother with meshes though? If you made it as a plug in and simply set the color of each pixel then draw it like an image, then by making the image take up the whole screen it would automatically interpolate, no looping through verticies required, and it would be much faster than using events. Then you'd also have one quad instead of a whole bunch of triangles, which would render faster.

Admittedly I have no idea how to make plug-ins, though, so that might be a lot harder than it sounds. ^^
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:53 pm

Graphics cards don't really have a 'set pixel' command - they do everything with vertices. You can set a pixel, but it is very slow!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 11:12 pm

Huh. I had no idea!
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests