Fog Effect

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:19 am

Hey everyone! ^^

Problem here, I'm trying to create a sliding fog effect in a big room, and tried using the Wrap and Bullet behavior on a tiled image.

Problem is, the wrapping isn't working... it just keeps moving as a whole image, wothout the end back in the beginning to loop the start of it... : (
Anyone knows another way to do that?
B
4
G
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 690

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:44 am

In c2 you would need to use 2 images right next to each other, but not overlapping.
You then have the first image move when its completely off screen, and then the other the same way.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:45 pm

I think that by "Big room" you mean that you have a large layout (larger than the project size).

Wrap doesn't occur when an image goes out of the "project view" but when it is out of the layout.
If you have a huge layout, especially in comparison with the viewport, you may have the impression that it doesn't wrap, when in fact all you need is to wait for the spirte to reach the layout boundaries.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:49 pm

@newt
1 - Loved your avatar image, but looking too much at it scares the hell outta me.
2 - I think i got what you said, but it didn't work.

@Kyatric

Ok. But what do i do to compensate its "Cut" on the beginning while it doesn't reach the layout boundaries? (Wich btw, i think it does... but oh well...)
B
4
G
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 690

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:59 pm

Post your .capx, we will see from there what is the best course to run.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:18 pm

Deal. : )

...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/40683395/Construct%202/Project%20Silver/One%20File%20Source/Silver%20Project.capx

There it is.
B
4
G
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 690

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:34 pm

I've wondered similar things, I'm sure the developers are working hard to add a Paralax option. I may suggest this actually in the forums.
B
17
S
4
G
5
Posts: 226
Reputation: 4,042

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:48 pm

[QUOTE=dcrew] I've wondered similar things, I'm sure the developers are working hard to add a Paralax option. I may suggest this actually in the forums.[/QUOTE]

Paralax? CenSilver2011-09-29 17:48:44
B
4
G
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 690

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:01 pm

@CenSilver: I had overseen that it was a tiled image.
Check this topic which is an implementation of what Newt spoke about.

@dcrew: there is already a parallax option in C2 (in the layer properties).
Check the beginner'guide about HUD.Kyatric2011-09-29 18:01:41
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:06 pm

Ok, i'll give them a look.

Thanks for the intel! ^^
B
4
G
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 690

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, abdalghani, imothep85, LeFuji, makkancs, Marxally, Virpoja and 25 guests