Forms floating above canvas - is it intentional?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:11 am

Hi,

I'm currently using a 9-patch for making speech bubbles but this can be cumbersome (e.g. resizing the bubble according to TextSize needs a 0.1s wait because of rendering timing etc.) so I thought I'd use a <div> plugin to display them. This works great but my elements now float above everything else.

I know this is by design but I was wondering if this is intentional in HTML5? I mean, is it done for security reasons or is it an overlook that will be resolved in like HTML6 or something? Using HTML directly as sprites could provide nice vector capabilities but this floating thing can be seriously limiting.
B
16
S
7
G
1
Posts: 161
Reputation: 3,131

Post » Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:12 am

Div is basically a shortcut that just gets pasted on top, so it's not a security thing, but a lack of proper implementation.
Not all dom elements can be rendered well.
Image ImageImage
B
170
S
50
G
179
Posts: 8,378
Reputation: 113,425

Post » Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:57 am

Construct 2 renders the game in to a canvas element, but other elements like text inputs and buttons are the only things which are separate elements. The only way it's possible to display these is to float them over the canvas, there's no way to draw them in.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,351


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests