Found solution for seams

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:25 pm

Some other engines don't even support floating-point positioning (i.e. pixel rounding is always on). People seem to get by OK with those tools. I would suspect other non-seaming games are using pixel rounding or point sampling.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,521
Reputation: 195,375

Post » Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:36 pm

Overall I think it's possible to solve these problems on special cases, but finding the universal and automatic solution that works on all possible platforms and implementations without great performance overhead is going to be hard.
Need help? Upload .capx file with your question.
B
16
S
4
G
2
Posts: 233
Reputation: 2,560

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:04 am

[QUOTE=PixelRebirth]I have to be so bold to disagree. I found the experience in my low resolution retro project so jarringly bad with pixel rounding activated, that in conclusion it simply cannot be used. And I've seen posts from other users who also find it unusable for their pixel endeavors.[/QUOTE]

I may be wrong but I think developers for old platforms like the SNES designed their way around this. As in making sure their game objects moved by increments that played nice with a low-resolution pixel grid. No 'move sprite by 0.635 pixels per screen draw' for instance. They also had the luxury of working with platforms that gave you a consistent screen update at all times, which made delta-timing unnecessary. No need to compensate for different hardware speeds, and no Windows lurking in the background to hog resources with page filing and indexing and whatever it is it does.
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:25 am

Here the solution to all my problems (desktop platform).. i just programmed this in C# for my game. The settings are wrote to a single .txt file that the game is loading after.. plus it handle system screen resolution change and set it back when the game end.

http://www.mediafire.com/view/myfiles/#b79bs7975hdtjbe

I use crop mode, screen size is small.. and when i get to fullscreen or any window size.. everything is repositionned with Viewport properties. All layouts are scrolled to 0,0 automatically (except the ingame layout) which make the layout at top,left position and resizing is done to the right, bottom.

End. :) and it work flawless.. if he desire fullscreen he can.. if he doesn't he can too! plus an extra where he can choose the scenario to load. But the point is that there are many option for a desktop user.. sure this kind of thing won't work on mobile.. but then you can adapt so it use integer scale and forget about the rest.

And guess what ?.. no seams at all.. whatever the resolution is used. How this is possible ? simple.. there no scaling at the game. Only screen resolution got changed and this is the technique used by many desktop games.Rushino2014-01-22 04:28:40
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 190
Reputation: 2,489

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:28 am

The biggest problem about is HTML5 doesn't manipulate resolution from operative system like 1024 x 768 in game.
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:31 am

Yeah i know but like Ashley said that not a construct 2 concern.. however Node-WebKit should somewhat support this since the goal is to bring html 5 games to desktop and other desktop platforms such linux and mac.

So unfortunally that why i had to code myself the resolution side of the app.Rushino2014-01-22 04:35:30
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 190
Reputation: 2,489

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:10 pm

The biggest issue i have concerning this, is when i preview my game with my optimal settings (tested on chrome,firefox,ie) i have no seams, and i mean none, not less, i now also tested it with high contrast tiles,if it wasn't the case i simple wouldn't have bothered to raise this issue

then when i export, suddenly there are, so its an export problem

this to me, means that the technology is perfectly fine to display tiles with floating positions and no seams, but on export the texture atlas needs tweaking, wich i done and is possible to recreate the preview quality

adjusted texture atlas
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61666915/noseamhighcontrast/index.html

normal exported result (seams are really bad,because of upscaling)
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61666915/seamhighcontrast/index.htmlvtrix2014-01-22 14:31:23
ImageImage
B
70
S
21
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,052

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:38 pm

@vtrix

so if it is about textures export, then @Ashley could fix that
or at least add some configuration?
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:58 pm

@vtrix your adjusted results still have seams, they are just blurred into each other at the edges (at least on my computer which is nearly brand new and up to date). It's better then the normal result for sure but it's hasn't fixed the issue unfortunately.
B
61
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,991

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:45 pm

@Burvey, black seams? besides testing this on a good windows7 setup i'm testing this on a brand new nexus7 wich has a very high dpi, and i don't see a single seam, possible to do a screenshot? too see how it relates to the original.

anyone else are seeying seems on adjusted version?
ImageImage
B
70
S
21
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,052

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests