Found solution for seams

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:45 pm

@Burvey, black seams? besides testing this on a good windows7 setup i'm testing this on a brand new nexus7 wich has a very high dpi, and i don't see a single seam, possible to do a screenshot? too see how it relates to the original.

anyone else are seeying seems on adjusted version?
ImageImage
B
70
S
21
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,052

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:55 pm

@vtrix

if you do screenshoot, then zoom to vertical | line between color segments. But for me it is almost perfectszymek2014-01-22 16:56:22
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:56 pm

@vtrix No black seams, just blurry edges where the tiles look like they are bleeding together. I'll try to grab a screen shot.
B
61
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,986

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:45 pm

It's much better then the before result, no doubt about it, but you can see there is some bleed through around the tiles which causes a blurry look. I opened the screenshot in gimp and zoomed in on the corners of the tiles to make it easier to see. Of course it probably would be less obvious using the real tiles rather then the high contrast ones.





My system info:
Windows 8.1, Intel Core i7-4800MQ 2.70GHz Quad Core, 8 Logical Processors. NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M. Updated drivers. Screen Resolution 1600x900. Previewed in Chrome and Firefox.Burvey2014-01-22 17:50:06
B
61
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,986

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:27 pm

yes but 0 seams, and as long as its only a 1px blur on each, it would be invisible, because of the tiling, good example is the single color-tiles, i probably do another test later with different tilesvtrix2014-01-22 18:34:11
ImageImage
B
70
S
21
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,052

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:54 pm

Another thing to remember is to use a good blending color behind the tiles, so that when it does show through it isn't as noticeable.

Design you background graphic with mid-range tones, not to bright or dark. or have the sky fade darker and less saturated down near the majority of ground.

Watch your game, see where the seams show the least, and do whatever works there more often.
B
233
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,398

Post » Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:50 pm

@Ashley
what happens to people that use spriter for their animations?
if you use pixel rounding to "on" you fix the seams problem but scml files become weird and jerky since it tweens sub pixel.
are you aware of this problem?
B
15
S
6
G
4
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3,948

Post » Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:31 pm

Yes, and there is nothing specific to Construct 2 here, it's a normal result in computer graphics. You have a tradeoff between smooth rendering with seam issues to pixel-rounded without seams.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,415
Reputation: 194,534

Post » Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:05 pm

@Ashley
maybe i haven't phrased my question correctly because that was not the answer i was expecting.let me try to be a little more clear.and what i am about to say comes from my heart with the best intentions.
after some months using construct i have come to the conclusion that there is no specific company strategy on where you want to go with your product.
what i mean is that you add tremendous features at a rapid pace but without thinking the consequences in the long run .
you added tilemap support .i had to dig into the forums to learn everything about seams and sub pixel rendering after spending some time scratching my head if i am incompetent in creating correct tilemap sets .i had no warning about that anywhere for a manual post to a blog post.
we have spriter. i believe that you are involved as well in the plugin development.i spend a lot of time to create animations that i will soon reveal and i believe they are top notch only to learn that is either this or that.
see where i am going?
you have to pick what things are the most important make them work 1000% and then move on to something else without promising the world and in the end of the day you leave behind heartbroken customers.
i will talk specifically about spriter since i firmly believe is a game changer for both of you , as i will try to explain .
the animation quality ,the fact that it only needs one set of png's for a thousand animations and the easiness to import to c2 makes it an invaluable ally to create games that stand out.
work together ,bundle your two software's as one (or with an exclusive plugin like wii u at an added price ) make it work 100% with all features like tilemaps and advertise it as a complete solution.
i had no warning about these conflicting situations.
right now many customers are under the impression that c2 works with everything (if it a marketing plan then kudos to you) fom cocconjs, to crosswalk, to spriter to node webkit etc etc and this is partially true. it works until you start reading the hundreds of post trying to find a viable solution to their problem.
i am not saying that you are responsible for 3rd party support but right now they create more problems than they solve .
soon you'll be ready to implement multiplayer. will it work with mobile? with steam? with crosswalk? with wii-u?
if yes , will ludei support it? maybe intelrobert? or it will only work on browsers?
i kinda know the answer since i have read your posts and my question is , is it worth your time developing it or you should spend that time in securing partnerships with other software developers or writing your own mobile exporter so later on since you have full control over it, add mulltiplayer ?.
i am grateful that you gave me the opportunity to create games , but the deeper i get into game development and the bigger the project becomes the more frustrations i encounter not regarding designing my game which i expected day one to be difficult but from behind the scenes tech that does not work as promised .
B
15
S
6
G
4
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3,948

Post » Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:55 pm

@Roccinio - I have no idea what to tell you. The seams issue is a normal result in computer graphics and I'm not currently aware of any convenient workaround. Some engines don't even support sub-pixel positioning, so at least you can do that if you want in Construct 2, although it can have side-effects.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,415
Reputation: 194,534

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests