framerate

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:08 pm

I recommend you to learn more about the effects you want and then implement it via code, without the complete behavior.

For example, if you want a repulsion effect, just go ahead with a clean object (without any behavior) and check if it's on collision, then, set it to "move to angle", where the angle is "angle(object.X, object.Y, object2.X, object2.Y) and the speed/force/movement desired is very variable, but you can setup like an impact force, or simple move 300 pixels, or, move something like "object2.speed/2".TELLES08082013-04-14 19:09:23
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
12
Posts: 1,211
Reputation: 18,473

Post » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:39 am

How complicated is all ... Yesterday physical remove several objects and still not go to 60 fps ... rose somewhat but the fps from 30 to 45 .. but even so the game goes wrong.

How sad do all the game menus, autosave, level select ... to fail in that and then you the whole game :(

Feeling of having lost two months working foolishly.
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 410
Reputation: 2,752

Post » Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:10 pm

I guess it will issue the program, which is made more websites that iphone gaming .. because you can not with 9 physical or a layout .. sad
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 410
Reputation: 2,752

Post » Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:28 pm

How many layers do you have? I didn't think it would cause an issue. I had about 19, but after seeing your post I tried my game out on Cocoon. It was so slow. I was getting about 20fps.

I then recreated a level, reducing it to only 3 layers, and I'm not getting 62fps with full physics. Things start to slow down when I have around 10-20 physics objects moving at once, but when the settle it jumps back up to 62 until there is a collision again. When all but one of the physics objects are set to immoveable, it doesn't slow down at all.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 930
Reputation: 9,358

Post » Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:51 pm

Sadly I have only one layer, with 9 physical objects and 30 fps ... scheduled to be wrong?
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 410
Reputation: 2,752

Post » Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:41 am

Scheduled to be wrong? Post your CAPX please, I'll see if I can tweak any settings :)
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 930
Reputation: 9,358

Post » Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:19 am

@AnD4D
I have a whole game almost done, if you want I can send it privately. Thanks for trying to help :D
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 410
Reputation: 2,752

Post » Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:46 pm

Go for it :) Happy to help out if I can!
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 930
Reputation: 9,358

Post » Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:11 pm

Interesting. I'm getting 60fps on my tablet. It occasionally slows down to 45, but when I never notice anything, as I set the physics to machine independent. Also, I changed a lot of the physical objects from collision polygon to circle or bounding box. It causes a bit of a gap, but I'm sure that can be fixed.

I am using the latest version of C2, so maybe that's fixed it slightly.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 930
Reputation: 9,358

Post » Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:41 pm

@AnD4D
You can send your Capx modified, to see if I notice a difference? think updating construct 2 improved somewhat fps? device you tested it? The programming was well or a little sloppy?
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 410
Reputation: 2,752

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: djcrazypants, marekmk and 6 guests