Friend having construct error

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue Jan 06, 2009 1:00 pm

Error loading C:\Program Files\Scirra\Construct\Plugins\8DirMov.csx (998) - this plugin may not be available!

Comes up when he tries to run my .cap with his construct 98.3. He cant seem to run any of my exes because he gets a direct X error, even tho its up to date. Anyone know what to do to fix this? I tried sending him both the 8dirmov plugins but they didnt help, same error. any help would be appreciated.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:05 pm

Can they or have they installed Construct? Also make sure you run all parts of the installer: some people assume their DirectX is up to date because it is version 9.0c. That does not necessarily mean it is up to date; Microsoft release frequent updates, while keeping the version number at 9.0c. So a DirectX update is a must.

Also, I'm not sure, but I think someone else reported Data Execution Prevention (DEP) breaks Construct. Maybe turning it off if it's on will help.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:14 pm

Sounds like DEP to me.. what operating system?
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:00 am

hes using windows vista, just like me and he installed construct 98.3 to try and run my .cap but when he tries to open construct he gets the error:
Error loading C:\Program Files\Scirra\Construct\Plugins\8DirMov.csx (998) - this plugin may not be available!

the same error keeps popping up when he closes it and he has to CTRL+ALT+DEL to close construct. His Direct X is up to date I specifically told him to run the updater in the installation and he still gets the error.. What is DEP?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:15 pm

DEP is Data Execution Protection. I think it prevents certain parts of memory being run as code, to stop viruses. I'm not really sure what it is or how to turn it off, so I'd go to Google. Even if turning DEP off fixes it, I've no idea why - none of the plugins do anything particularly unusual with memory or code.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:24 pm

ok thanks for the advice :D
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests