full screen mode

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:54 pm

is it possible to change game mode to full screen?
I mean if game is for example 800x600, but screen is 1600x1200 if it is possible to stretch it over screen...
B
4
S
2
G
1
Posts: 143
Reputation: 1,211

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:58 pm

There's a lovelly option here called "search".

first example from "search" http://69.24.73.172/scirra/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4891shinkan2011-09-16 18:58:58
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:20 pm

sorry, i couldnt find it...
thanks
B
4
S
2
G
1
Posts: 143
Reputation: 1,211

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:00 pm

That's not fullscreen, and it blurs the display.

Your best bet is doing it this way http://www.scirra.com/forum/fullscreen-while-keeping-aspect-ratio-with-bars_topic43714.html

but it causes a million little problems you're gonna have to work around. It ain't pretty.
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:16 am

[QUOTE=Tokinsom]but it causes a million little problems you're gonna have to work around. It ain't pretty.[/QUOTE]
I haven't tried it to use it in a game, but I'm planning to. What should I watch out for?
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 773
Reputation: 6,643

Post » Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:43 pm

-Layers with 0% scroll rates don't work (That's a massive one. You have to place all your HUD, Pause Menu, and the like manually with events. I've resorted to using a lot of loops and IDs)

-You need to use the GUI origin Ashley made well, or make your own, because positioning the HUD and stuff is different in windowed and fullscreen.

-If your game is time-based then, when zoomed in, everything will appear to move by fractions of a pixel. The only way to get around that is to give each moving object an invisible "base", then set the objects position to round(base.x),round(base.y) I said screw it, and hope nobody notices.

-Magicam won't work in fullscreen
-"Object is on-screen" doesn't work.
-Scrollx=0, Scrolly=0 is not the top left of the layout.
-Plasma object doesn't work.
-Fontsprite characters get distorted at different zoom levels
-Text objects are blurry and look horrible when zoomed in
-You can't set the fontsprite's position, so you'll have to attach it to an object. It still shakes sometimes.

That's all I can come up with off the top of my head. Have fun!Tokinsom2011-09-17 18:48:32
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Sat Sep 17, 2011 6:37 pm

Don't know did I missed something or not, but why not to use just standart 'set fullscreen' action?
B
2
S
2
G
2
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,366

Post » Sat Sep 17, 2011 6:52 pm

It doesn't maintain aspect ratio (stretches pixels) and to my knowledge only works properly with larger resolutions. Also I don't think you can adjust the display res in normal fullscreen. Plus it often crashes Construct...and I'm pretty sure a number of the aforementioned problems still arise.
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:15 am

>Tokinsom
Uh, that's lot of stuff to look after! Too much work, I'll skip fullscreen in CC then, and wait for C2 where it should work.
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 773
Reputation: 6,643

Post » Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:50 am

Why not go in the application properties and disable the window edges, then make the "window" the size of the whole screen?
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests