Fullscreen Memory Leak

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:17 am

I noticed when I opened Ghost shooter demo with Rain version, while using fullscreen the memory is big and fps is not smooth, otherwise I try to resize browser from big window to small window, then the memory is small and fps is smooth.



Isn't there a hack like projection from small window to fullscreen without memory leak?
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:30 am

Isn't it logic that a bigger resolution would need more time to render and more mem?
Actually @Jayderyu, that's only in OOP (Object-Oriented Programming) , a more base definition
Memory leaks are when you allocate memory and you don't free it
Last edited by Whiteclaws on Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:55 am, edited 3 times in total.
B
42
S
17
G
17
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 17,461

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:50 am

Whiteclaws is right. This is just rendering over large screen problem. Probably caused by the rain and water reflection shaders.

A Memory Leak occurs when memory is allocated to an object. However even after the object usefullness isn't needed anymore the object remains. This continues to occur until where the object is created and not destroyed and keeps going. And going... then you run out of memory.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,018

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:42 am

@Whiteclaws @jayderyu Well, it explains a logic, so no hack. Thanks.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:47 am

What's your projects native resolution?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:00 am

@megatronx Did you mean window size in project settings? it's 640 x 480, it doesn't affect performance difference.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:02 am

Joannesalfa wrote:@megatronx Did you mean window size in project settings? it's 640 x 480, it doesn't affect performance difference.


Did you try using low quality rendering?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:11 am

@megatronx Yes, It's known solution, anyway I asked here about a hack nothing else.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Post » Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:53 pm

Well, you could draw everything to a canvas and then scale that canvas by 2, that way you would only render half the pixels
B
42
S
17
G
17
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 17,461

Post » Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:07 pm

@Whiteclaws Does make a big difference resizing canvas by 2? according to my test, scaling sprites doesn't change memory usage in runtime.

Actually I am doing, every sprites and textures are small (Max. 320 x 240) and I scale them as bigger.
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,371

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests