Game freezes after fullscreen

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:49 am

Hello!

I have a 640x480 game running fullscreen. The problem I am experiencing is that whenever I close it down, either Construct or the game itself locks up (depending on whether it is run via Construct or as a standalone exe).

My computer is a 2.0 GHz Intel Core2 DUO CPU T6400 with 4 GB RAM and an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330.

How would I go about fixing this?
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,142

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:52 am

If the game resolution is lower than that of your monitor's normal resolution, Construct will lock up after closing the game. So to keep it from locking up, you'll have to go with a higher fullscreen resolution or use windowed mode instead.
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:09 am

[quote="linkman2004":3iccdjbr]If the game resolution is lower than that of your monitor's normal resolution, Construct will lock up after closing the game.[/quote:3iccdjbr]
Really? This works fine for me. Is there something on the tracker about this?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:55 pm

There was a while ago, but it was closed because you couldn't reproduce it and the poster never posted a CAP file demonstrating the problem.

I was doing some testing earlier, and I've found that a basic CAP file that closes on the escape key will lock up Construct for about a minute, but then it will recover. Larger CAPs seem to have no such luck. :?

EDIT: Here's a mostly blank CAP that demonstrates a temporary lockup on my computer
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:06 pm

Construct has to re-load all textures in the .cap if you preview your game in fullscreen because DirectX evicts all the IDE's textures when anything goes fullscreen. So if you have a large game, it'll be re-loading the layout editors that are currently open - you might have to be patient, and it should show a progress bar.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:08 pm

I was wondering if that might be the case, but I don't think that explains why there are no problems when the game is running at native resolution in fullscreen, even with large projects.
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:16 pm

Tried exactly that (smaller resolution fullscreen with one event to close application on escape key) with 99.42 and had no problems. I think, posting a cap wouldn't help. Complete hardware/driver description could possibly help more if posting it again to the bug tracker.

EDIT: also tried the posted cap without problems.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests