Game hangs when 'Play' is pressed

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:45 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13425402/Tough%20to%20Kill.capx

Steps to reproduce:
1. Fire up the game (can do so here: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13425402/Tough%20to%20Kill%20v1/index.html)
2. Click 'Play'

Observed result:
For most people, the game just 'hangs' and does nothing. In Firefox, a friend of mine reported that a script error popped up for him when he pressed 'Play': "c2runtime.js:51" "a script on this page may be busy or it may have stopped responding" - further, he managed to actually get the game to work in Firefox after refreshing the browser about 4 or 5 times randomly (though it still through the script error at him).

All other people who have tried have reported that the game just hangs.

I personally have not been able to reproduce any of these issues and the game works fine for me, making it difficult for me to figure anything out for this.

Expected result:
When pressing the Play button, it is expected that you transition from the Intro page to the game layout itself.

Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes
Firefox: yes
Opera: no (one user, said it worked fine)
Safari: unkown
Internet Explorer: unknown

Operating system & service pack:
Varies; many users

Construct 2 version:
Latest version, 123.2


Further Note: I never had this issue before when exporting with previous versions of C2. This only happened after the latest updates, though I did skip a few in the middle (I can't recall exactly, but I want to say 116 or 119 was the last version I successfully exported with).
    
B
19
S
6
G
5
Posts: 98
Reputation: 4,484

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:05 pm

On a related note:

Playing with the Chrome dev tools, it appears that all of the game resources are not loading appropriately during the game's 'loading' time, and instead is loading everything while in the main menu. Anyone who tries to press Play before these resources are loaded, then the game hangs and nothing happens (or shoots an error). If you wait until the resources are loaded, then it works fine. So it appears anyway.
B
19
S
6
G
5
Posts: 98
Reputation: 4,484

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:19 pm

As Ashley always says, if you are posting a bug report, then re-create the bug in 'as simple as .capx' as possible without any non-standard plugins.

This is a 56MB file ! Not only that, it's using clay.io.

This could be anything from a your events to a breaking change, but this is too much for anyone to check adequately.

Having said that - after deleting the webstorage plugin, the game loaded and played fine, so you may want to investigate that area.zenox982013-03-25 18:50:43
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,842
Reputation: 48,285

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:19 pm

You're right, I've encountered the same issue in a project of mine (if you check for error in your browser you'll see an error message talking about a DOM security issue with a slightly different message in FF/Chrome).

I came to the same conclusion that it was because the project wasn't completely loaded, and so you should make a loader screen that will only give access to your menu once ALL datas are loaded.

Also, it's only experienced when the project is exported, not in preview.
Chrome and FF have the same behavior, this time IE is the one not complaining about anything and executing the game. Perhaps it's webGL related ?)Kyatric2013-03-26 01:24:55
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:38 pm

How do you make it so that the loading screen only disappears once everything is loaded, though?
B
19
S
6
G
5
Posts: 98
Reputation: 4,484

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:04 pm

The loading screen is the first layout of your project and you switch to the menu only once loadingprogress = 1.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:00 pm

Hmm. It doesn't seem to be working. The condition I have is "when loading is complete" and when that condition is met, the action is 'Go to main menu". However, it just goes to the main menu regardless whether everything is loaded or not.
B
19
S
6
G
5
Posts: 98
Reputation: 4,484

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:17 pm

Try event "system: compare two values" loadingprogress = 1

Loadingprogress is a system expression.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:46 pm

As per how to report bugs, please re-submit your .capx with no third party plugins used (you used clay.io). This eliminates the possibility the problem is caused by the plugin. FYI your exported game seems to run OK here in Chrome.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:20 pm

I've been talking to @Kyatric a bit about a similar issue over Skype. It may be Dropbox is failing to send some images (they're not a great host). Can you reproduce the problem when hosted on a different server?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests