Game is still lagging!

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:31 pm

As a side note your first comment said that you had the issue only when you added admob? If this is truly the case, and you have made sure everything is optimized properly: use tile image for images that aren't sprites, use right compression for images, use the right sizes for the right case, use animations only where necessary.. Then I would say your issue is just with admob..

This is a related post with the same issue.

help-admob-object-fps-decrease-fixable_t128272

If I were you I would contact Ashley (Support here), and possibly whoever made the plugin, the thread above says Google.

If you can't fix the bug you may have to settle on a game without adbomb.

Not sure why someone would put ads in a game though. Imagine playing Zelda link to the past on snes, and having a banner ad :(..

There are other monetization options for a site too: Adsense... Also, you can always sell your own adspace online. If you had 100,000 players on your site sell you adspace for $500-1000, or whatever the going rate is. You'll make 10X more money, and your game wont have an ad on it... players will thank you for it too :)
B
7
S
2
Posts: 92
Reputation: 663

Post » Sat Sep 05, 2015 4:20 am

Post a capx.
B
56
S
15
G
13
Posts: 826
Reputation: 17,645

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:41 am

ahhhh right I understand. The player is stationary but rotates on touch.

I will have a look at the image compression link, thank you :D
B
8
S
2
Posts: 146
Reputation: 1,132

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:42 am

@tekniko can I PM it you?
B
8
S
2
Posts: 146
Reputation: 1,132

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:48 am

@JeremyBenson11 sorry If my post was unclear. It wasn't caused from admob. I previously wrapped the game using cocoonJS which i found was more efficient for my game in terms of loading speed etc, i just found it ran quite smoothly. But i wasnt able to integrate admob with it very easily so decided to swap over to intel XDK instead so that i could incorporate the admob into my game which worked fine.
However the game didn't run as smooth and seemed to lag more. I was suggested yesterday to look into the resolution of my images. I sent one of the C2 members the capx and they said that their phone was showing 10% of its real resolution?

I made the sprites in adobe illustrator. Maybe I made the images with too higher resolution when exporting or something? If it makes any difference the colour of the images is a lot more vibrant on my android than on my PC. Not sure if that is relevant at all. Going to try and look into the resolution of the images
B
8
S
2
Posts: 146
Reputation: 1,132

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:42 am

@zikdot Sure, I don't mind.
B
56
S
15
G
13
Posts: 826
Reputation: 17,645

Post » Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:06 am

Okay so I found a noticeable improvement when I changed the sprites resolution. It's a bit hard to explain but here's an example.

When I normally export a 100x100px image from Adobe Illustrator, I export as a png at 72PPI (pixels per inch). when i then import this into C2 its size is generally around 50x50 even though its true size is 100x100. I'm not sure if programes generally do this or whether its a fault on my behalf but either way i was worried that if i scalled it from 50x50 to 100x100 it may be a little pixelated so i've been exporting most of my images from Adobe Illustrator at 150PPI so that when importing it is around 100x100.
This time I decided to re-save them at 72PPI and just scale up the sprites to the desired size which has helped with the performance of the game. It still lags a bit but not near as much as it did. So i'm thinking that a few more tweaks need to be done in terms of the images themselves. I'm just not sure what?

I have a big sprite which is the size of the layout which i use as the game over page. Should i put this in a separate layout instead of it sitting in the game layout and then setting its position when the player is destroyed? Does it slow the game even though it has no use or events until the player is destroyed?

Thanks
B
8
S
2
Posts: 146
Reputation: 1,132

Post » Mon Sep 07, 2015 1:40 pm

@tekniko sent

thank you!
B
8
S
2
Posts: 146
Reputation: 1,132

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests