Game menus

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:08 pm

Hi!

I think about adding menus in my games. There will be two kind of menus:

- full screen menus.
- pop-up in-game (for example the pause menu... the game scene will still be viewable behind).

How should I proceed? Everything put into the game scene, and I move/hide/Show according to the events? Or a very new layout including all the concerned assets.

Your opinion? Any examples?

Thanks in advance!

Rag'Ragtime2012-02-14 15:21:53
B
17
S
4
G
4
Posts: 137
Reputation: 3,767

Post » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:00 pm

For full screen "main menus" I would have it on a layout for its own.
Layers should allow you to navigate between several "menu screens" to access different parts.

For an "ingame menu" (like pause), I would have it in a top layer in the game/level layout, and pause/make sure the rest of the game can't get accessed when the top layer (menu) is visible, so that only the top menu gets the user input.
(this can be done by adding some check system:is layer visible (top layer)/invert to the events of the game, system:is layer visible (top layer) for the events of the menu.

For concrete examples, I don't recall a specific one posted.
I hope this helps you nevertheless.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:14 am

I'm agree with Kyatric. Layers are useful for making overlays, including pause overlays.
Banned User
B
15
S
3
G
3
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,070


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: farfetchd83, mjj1990 and 4 guests