Game not running on the GPU?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:19 pm

sqiddster wrote:@shinkan the one sgtconti linked to


Which paragraph, cause i cant find it?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:33 pm

This was great to point out! I updated my HD4600 driver and set 3D to the NVidia for Chrome and my sprite count went through the roof! I was a little concerned that my new laptop wasn't doing too well LOL!
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
74
Posts: 2,253
Reputation: 46,480

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:15 am

I still would like to know if NW runs of integrated chipsets?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 2:02 am

@megatronx second last paragraph.

This is really really important to get sorted out since most CPUs these days include integrated graphics chipsets.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 3:31 am

sqiddster wrote:@megatronx second last paragraph.

This is really really important to get sorted out since most CPUs these days include integrated graphics chipsets.


NV did this a few months ago, they decided they know best and in order to make their power usage look good, if their drivers detect web content (chrome, ie etc), it auto switches to the integrated GPU on Intel CPUs (which are horrible for gaming) instead of the main GTX. As far as I know, this only applies to notebooks/portables, on desktop it doesn't do it.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:11 am

@Silverforce surely there's a way to override it? somehow?
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:17 am

It's obviously unacceptable to release a game like this that doesn't run well on high-end gaming notebooks.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:29 am

sqiddster wrote:@Silverforce surely there's a way to override it? somehow?


http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id- ... d-gpu.html

Apparently newer drivers do that but older ones don't, they just released it a few months ago with that mode.

That's NOT a solution, you don't wanna use 1 year old drivers anyway in a gaming setup.

http://answers.ea.com/t5/Battlefield-4/ ... -p/3299839

On the NV forum (which is where you ought to look) this problem is very common, for a lot of games as well. It's their Optimus drivers trying to save power, and its retarded to be frank. My notebooks have been with AMD discrete GPU for awhile and never have a problem with games or anything, I just set it to use the discrete or integrated one and it obeys my command.

Generally though you don't want to release a game that doesn't run out of the box and requires users to troubleshoot. Because optimus handle browsers more strict than actual games, its a bigger problem for us than other games. :(

Currently my games run really quick on integrated Intel GPUs. But I'll keep digging to see if there's an easy/quick fix.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 11:30 am

This is nVidia's driver and like my blog post says it's completely ridiculous and their justification makes no sense.

You will simply have to document that if you have a dual GPU system then you may need to specify the powerful GPU in the driver settings/control panel. I think a similar thing happens with dual-GPU AMD setups. I think if the user sets the gaming GPU as the system-wide default though, then that will fix it too. Or you might get the powerful GPU if you're plugged in to charge the battery, since if you're on battery power only it will try hard to save battery.

Just another way that drivers screw games over.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,539
Reputation: 195,422

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 11:38 am

The difference is on AMD notebooks or dual GPU desktops, if you set it to the discrete, it WILL obey.

On NV stuff, through Optimus, NV thinks they KNOW BETTER THAN YOU and will ignore your settings when it feels like it (lots of users complaint on their official forum), and it seems to feel like it more often for browsers.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests