Game preview on secondary monitor.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 1:58 pm

Hi,
I'm making PC standalone game in Node Webkit. I'm working on a laptop and (bigger) secondary monitor.
When I test my game it's launched always on laptops monitor. There's no way I could move it on the secondary monitor. How can I change this?

Windows 8.1
Game in fullscreen letterbox scale
B
55
S
14
G
10
Posts: 287
Reputation: 7,677

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 2:10 pm

Is the laptops monitor the primary monitor? I have the same setup but I mirror my screen so both screens show the same when I test my games.
B
57
S
24
G
14
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13,137

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 3:20 pm

Yes it is. I thought that i could do it faster, but it seems that i have to switch primary monitor to secondary monitor for game testing.
B
55
S
14
G
10
Posts: 287
Reputation: 7,677

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 3:23 pm

I know. Games and software usually always launch on the primary screen. But if you really want to solve it there's probably a simple solution for it :)
B
57
S
24
G
14
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13,137

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 3:35 pm

In case you haven't tried, in Windows 7 at least you can just grab the window while it's loading and drag it to the secondary monitor before it goes fullscreen.
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 6:08 pm

if you want preview on another monitor - use extended display mode.

then preview game and drag and drop the window to that 2nd monitor and expand to full screen. next time you preview it will be on 2nd screen
Sea Monsters template - Isometric
Also includes 40 pages PDF of optimizations and "how-to" for your games, and how the "sea monsters" template was built. Follow link for details :)

sea-monsters-templates-and-assets_t162705
B
43
S
14
G
12
Posts: 626
Reputation: 9,450

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 6:50 pm

Just preview the game, move it to the desired monitor/position, and minimize or unfocus it when you're done testing. The next time you preview the game, the window will be restored as it was. You'll also get slightly faster preview times this way. Make sure to have "run while minimized" or whatever unchecked in the project properties though.
Image
B
243
S
30
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,770

Post » Wed May 13, 2015 8:34 am

Thank you!
B
55
S
14
G
10
Posts: 287
Reputation: 7,677


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 12 guests