Game turns black and won't load after exporting?

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:41 pm

Hello,

I've been having random/strange issues with my game not loading after exporting them. It happens on occasion, and now it's happened again after exporting an extremely simple socket.io test.

The link is https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2725629/taquter/test1/index.html

Firebug is also reporting the following errors on load:

[quote]
module is not defined
...ined"!=typeof navigator&&/webkit/i.test(navigator.userAgent)})("undefined"!=type...
c2runtime.js (line 167)

cr is not defined
cr.createRuntime("c2canvas");
index.html (line 99)
[/quote]

Any ideas?

Cheers!

EDIT:

Also, the games always work in test builds on localhost, even when they don't work after exporting.bolosaur2012-06-06 13:54:47
B
22
S
5
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,354

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:40 pm

It looks like you've written a third-party plugin that is not compatible with the Google Closure Compiler minifier. Have you read all the guidelines in the SDK documentation?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:17 pm

Hi Ashley,

I haven't written any third party plugins, but I do have some plugins that I've downloaded from the plugins list on this forum.

To be specific, my game uses the following plugins:
- Button
- Text box
- Socket

And that's it.

I PMd you the project files in case you're interested.

Thanks for the reply.
B
22
S
5
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,354

Post » Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:44 am

I think the Socket plugin is badly written and does not work with Closure Compiler (the minifier on export). You can work around it by not minifying the code on export, but unfortunately it's third party code and not our responsibility to fix - you could try contacting the plugin developer.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:52 am

this same with me, i ve delected all third party plugins and the same black screen..... im crying.... days of work lost?? cant test online?? OMG....
B
22
S
2
G
5
Posts: 49
Reputation: 4,827

Post » Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:08 am

@jardelbr : try to check for errors in browser when executing your project and see what kind of error may rise.

Also see how to report bugs.
Currently there are not enough informations for us to see what's going wrong.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:39 am

@kyatric

Hello guys.

im going crazy, 4 months of intense work.... dozen of projects to test online, and... my surprise, im my first time to test a project online in dropbox...::

Im taking a great problem here.;:

so, when i export my projects to dropbox, any project, even space blaster for example, in public or shared folder, i just can see a fullscreen black and no more... with minefy script or no.. i cannot play my projects and test... online, on local preview by c2 its fine, but when i try in dropbox, no chance..

Ive formated my hd, reinstalled windows,directx, all drivers, java, c2 whitout third party plugins.... and the same problem persists....

i visited a tutorial to export projects to dropbox, did the same as..
tried, a version r87, r89, r90 and r92 and nothing, just a blackscreen...

its occur in i.e 8 here, firefox 12, and google chrome 19

anybody have this problem too?

[edit] when i click on get link, its goes to a page whit the entire code visible...

so, my Os is seven 64 ultimate, geforce GTS450 + 9800GTX+(physics) 4 gb ram... AMD Phenom II 550 black edition...

this img help?

jardelbr2012-06-08 01:44:11
B
22
S
2
G
5
Posts: 49
Reputation: 4,827

Post » Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:33 pm

@jardelbr - it looks like you've uploaded to a private folder. If you follow how to upload your game to dropbox it notes how you need to upload to a public folder otherwise the game won't work. It still won't work if you upload to a private folder and get a public link for index.html, because it will only make index.html available and not any of the other many files required for the game to work. If you have further problems please link us to your exported project and start a new thread because I think the issue is different to the original one in this thread.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:32 pm

@Ashley

Thanks man. i ve tested and the games run ok... sorry by my mistakes.

I didnot knew how important to get the public link in local sync folders in a public folder specific, .. can i get a private folder... shared with me and other person to protect the project:?
B
22
S
2
G
5
Posts: 49
Reputation: 4,827

Post » Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:19 pm

Public only means it can be shared, not that it is accessible to anyone publicly.
If you don't share the public link to the folder, no one will be able to access it.

As for sharing with specific people (using dropbox too) it can be done.
Right click the folder you're willing to share, click "share the folder" and you'll be taken on dropbox's website where you'll be told the steps to follow.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest