General Advice - Procedurally Creating Platforms?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:08 pm

Thanks guys, glad I could help.
Image ImageImage
B
165
S
49
G
147
Posts: 8,047
Reputation: 96,586

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:29 am

Not like it hasn't been said, but excellent job newt, and its admirable how well you keep up with the questioner. Not this one, necessarily, just simply your commitment to general assistance.
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 249
Reputation: 5,578


Post » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:12 pm

Here's a detailed look at how they generated the levels in spelunky

http://tinysubversions.com/spelunkyGen/
B
73
S
33
G
11
Posts: 935
Reputation: 13,797

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 3:49 am

That "random array" attachment is missing @Newt?
Krish
Hey! Did you know that you can hire me to make your games?

Click Here to See More
B
21
S
6
G
5
Posts: 391
Reputation: 5,652

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 1:26 pm

@krish
Thats pretty old, but I think it went along the lines of looping over an array(for each), and setting the value to random().

Or this:
viewtopic.php?t=63557&start=0
Image ImageImage
B
165
S
49
G
147
Posts: 8,047
Reputation: 96,586

Post » Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:36 pm

@newt thanks :)
B
21
S
6
G
5
Posts: 391
Reputation: 5,652

Post » Sat Aug 01, 2015 12:10 pm

Hi, sorry, it is old thread, but here was so important example for me of "random array", posted by @newt long time ago.
Anybody has the same example? May be who has downloaded it already.

Thanks!
B
5
S
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 455

Post » Sat Aug 01, 2015 4:58 pm

The plug I linked to does the same thing simpler.
The "for each" in array set value to random() is also really easy.
Otherwise there's a non repeating example in the card template I did in the store.
Image ImageImage
B
165
S
49
G
147
Posts: 8,047
Reputation: 96,586

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests