General construct2 mechanics question

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:30 pm

Hi everyone,

Small question about the way the software operates. Do layouts always stay loaded in memory? What I am getting at is, would it be ok performance wise to have say 1000 small layouts? I know that number is excessive I was just using it for an example. I can't seem to find a reference in the manual to how layouts and layers are loaded and when they stay loaded. Do layouts and inactive layers always stay loaded?
B
68
S
21
G
15
Posts: 701
Reputation: 15,604

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:04 pm

Right now the entire game is loaded into memory, but only the current layout will be running. What is currently running is what affects performance.
B
79
S
24
G
53
Posts: 4,728
Reputation: 40,219

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:54 pm

However, if you have a lot of images, this can very easily be a problem.

@Ashley, how far are we away from loading/unloading resources from the RAM per layout? I think that one of the main benefits of EXE export is that file size doesn't matter as much, however it will still be a big problem until we have layout-based loading.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests