General slowdown with larger project?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:29 pm

I'm worrying a bit for my game project. It's becoming quite code-filled across several event sheets, and I'm noticing that even if I run an old level file that used to be able to put out ~500 fps in Unlimited mode, it now is just above 200 most of the time, but the level itself doesn't use more code than before.

Will the project just keep slowing down as I expand on it (levels and a few bits of "code" are already external)? Is there something I can do to avoid this global slowdown of the game? I tried lots of stuff to try and pinpoint places where the sudden drop could occur, but it doesn't really get better until I remove basically everything in the game. Could I possibly make MORE event sheets so that instead of just disabling groups to skip code, I skip including other event sheets? Would that help?

I just don't know how Construct works on this level.
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:39 pm

Something to add: If I run a layout without any code included with it it still doesn't put out that much FPS. Should I be very sad yet?
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:57 pm

When your game drops under 60 fps, panic.
As long as it runs > to 60, don't care. You're just displaying more stuff then human brain can handle, so nothing to care about really.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:00 pm

See, it's not that simple. I've been making content that doesn't really encompass maybe 20% of the project in the end and I've already gotten a drop on an untouched level from 500 to 200, to me that implies that if I finished the game it could be struggling to get above 30 fps at the best of times, even if a layout runs very few events.
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:24 pm

Do you have copies of the older versions where the frame rate was higher?

You might want to try some experiments. First, after making a backup, I would try first disabling, then deleting all code and see if it makes a difference on the frame rate if its been disabled or deleted. Then I would also try deleting everything from the .cap while incrementally checking the frame rate to try to find if there's anything in particular that deleting helps the frame rate a lot. Then when you finish deleting everything, compare it to the FPS of a fresh .cap.

If you can get the frame rate hit to be there even in a .cap with nothing else in it, maybe someone can help fix it if it's a bug in construct.Arima2011-08-20 19:25:09
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,422

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:31 pm

I've tried most of those things and it's always a steady increase in FPS, suggestion it's because the project is growing. If I remove most of what's in the game it reaches thousands of FPS, but if I just remove some I might get 10 fps increase until I remove enough to not really make it a working game anymore.

So it doesn't seem to indicate a single culprit, no.
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:49 pm

Hmm... did you try after disabling/deleting the code, keeping the objects in the project, but not having any instances in the layout, then trying again after deleting the actual objects from the .cap? Those two should be about the same.

If there isn't anything there of note either, then my best guess would be to incrementally disable parts of the code to discover what's taking up the most cpu time and to try to find ways of optimizing it. It may be 10 fps here and there, but then if you make 10 optimizations that's 100 fps.Arima2011-08-20 19:50:25
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,422

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:05 pm

Tried that stuff. What confuses me is, as I said, the level I'm testing on isn't running anything new since a long time, so there's code being skipped and everything as usual, but the game still slows down as if all the code within the CAP weighs down on the whole thing.

Is this not intended to be possible with Construct (kind of)? I mean, can it only be my fault?
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:11 pm

I assume this is the iconoclasts that we're talking about (and therefore you can't post the .cap), and that game should definitely be possible with construct. More code elsewhere in the .cap really shouldn't affect other layouts than the ones the code is in.

About how many layouts, events, objects and event sheets does your .cap have?
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,422

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:18 pm

Nine layouts which I didn't really need all of them of, and 18 sheets. All levels are external, so is dialog and a bunch of cutscene code that can be saved in dialog files. The layout count hasn't grown because it started with seperate layouts for some sheets to counteract the past bug where too many objects in an event sheet could crash Construct when opening the expression editor.
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests