Geolocation Issue

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:21 pm

Not sure if this is a bug, or I just did it wrong. Reluctant to post in the bug forum with all the rules there, and I could just have made a mistake.

I've been messing around with Geolocation, and the Geolocation Request action will work with a button, but it apparently won't work 'On start of layout' for some reason. Logically, you should be able to start up the program and ping for Geolocation simply. I've even tried Compare Time (3 seconds) to try and get an initial Geolocation result, but no luck.

Any suggestions or insight would be very helpful.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 31
Reputation: 437

Post » Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:46 pm

I DID A LITTLE TRICK for my app with geolocalisation
at the start of your app when the user click on "PLAY" or "START" you need to activate the geolocalisation at that moment, geolocalisattion doesn't work without click action first time, geolocalisation need an "on click" event to work
B
34
S
13
G
6
Posts: 1,643
Reputation: 8,761

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2016 6:43 pm

Ah, so it requires a click to begin. Good to know.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 31
Reputation: 437

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2016 7:12 pm

yeep :D without that you can't run the geolocalisaion
but geolocalisation use a lot of battery, so you have to be carrefull on how yo use it.
B
34
S
13
G
6
Posts: 1,643
Reputation: 8,761

Post » Sat Aug 20, 2016 7:53 pm

Yeah, that's why I was trying to use the Geo Request, rather than the Geo Watch. I feel like pinging a Request every 10 seconds is probably better than constantly watching for location changes.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 31
Reputation: 437


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests