Get to Z Choppa (.99.2)

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Wed May 27, 2009 10:57 pm

A small example of the new z depth, and mesh features.
[url:2vdb52vs]http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/666516/choppa.zip[/url:2vdb52vs]

Screenshot:
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 2:32 pm

Wow that's pretty cool, I didn't realise the mesh feature addition was quite like that :O

It's a little weird how the shadow doesn't shrink or get bigger based on the mesh height/depth... I guess it doesn't automatically compensate for that. I wonder how you could do it though? Would be rather tricky I would imagine.

Nicely done though for a simple tech demo.

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 4:41 pm

That's cool, but you didn't enable 3D layering for that layer, so the hills glitch in certain places. Then when I enable 3D layering, the hills are so high the chopper disappears inside them!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 6:44 pm

Yeah my bad, I went all Zorro with the editor.
I'm still spinning from the possibilities with meshes. Geez its now possible to get some really great terrain maps, and I mean maps rivaling even Terragen.

Edit, just tried it with 3d enabled, but now the shadow is passing threw the hills.
I can probably work around this using a sprite as a dropshadow, but that brings up another issue.
Is there a way to disable z depth sizing, and still keep z height?
Actually I can think of a few reasons to have that as a feature. Z depth picking for say an isometric type game for example.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Fri May 29, 2009 1:24 am

[quote="newt":2l59c07o]just tried it with 3d enabled, but now the shadow is passing threw the hills.[/quote:2l59c07o]
If you don't want something to be obscured by 3D objects, put it on another layering with '3D layering' off.

[quote:2l59c07o]Is there a way to disable z depth sizing, and still keep z height?[/quote:2l59c07o]
No, the runtime is using a real 3D engine with perspective, and since something closer to you is bigger, that's what happens. Besides, I don't think it makes much sense to have 3D if it doesn't do that... isometric isn't real 3D, so you'd use other layering methods for that.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Fri May 29, 2009 8:17 am

Gotcha, still it might be nice to have some sort of numbering system for z order, but thats another thread all together.

Any way here's another mesh, to make up for that one. :wink:
[url:2z7v9ifj]http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/666516/test.mesh[/url:2z7v9ifj]

Screenshot?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767


Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest