"global" issues; never mind, I am an idiot, solved

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:15 am

This just started acting up tonight. I cloned a layout, and immediately afterward, I noticed that Construct will not accept "global" as an object of any sort. Hard to say if it's to do with the cloning, but it seems pretty well universal to Construct, as ALL .cap files I try to open are now affected by this.



Sexy, eh?

I figure it's probably a matter of clearing a registry entry somewhere, or something like that. Hopefully it's not a matter of 0.99.91 itself being bugged, with it being the latest "stable" release and all.

Anyway, any thoughts on this?
B
2
G
2
Posts: 48
Reputation: 746

Post » Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:23 am

it is not global.Value('indexlevel') it should be this [u:21cpkpp8]global('indexlevel')[/u:21cpkpp8]
because when you put a " . " at the end of a global you are in indicating that it is an object.

I am assuming that you don't have an object named global at all and you are trying to use global Variables from the picture.
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Post » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:56 pm

[quote="toralord":1pte9bb4]it is not global.Value('indexlevel') it should be this [u:1pte9bb4]global('indexlevel')[/u:1pte9bb4]
because when you put a " . " at the end of a global you are in indicating that it is an object.

I am assuming that you don't have an object named global at all and you are trying to use global Variables from the picture.[/quote:1pte9bb4]

Holy crap, that was a serious brain-fart. I knew better than that. That's why I shouldn't stay up until 4 am working on things, thanks.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 48
Reputation: 746

Post » Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:04 am

[quote="Tube":32dw5n8y][quote="toralord":32dw5n8y]it is not global.Value('indexlevel') it should be this [u:32dw5n8y]global('indexlevel')[/u:32dw5n8y]
because when you put a " . " at the end of a global you are in indicating that it is an object.

I am assuming that you don't have an object named global at all and you are trying to use global Variables from the picture.[/quote:32dw5n8y]

Holy crap, that was a serious brain-fart. I knew better than that. That's why I shouldn't stay up until 4 am working on things, thanks.[/quote:32dw5n8y]
When in doubt about the expressions just check the expressions with the objects at the bottom as they have all of them(especially system which has the math), if you don't have find the expressions in any of them that means that you have to create the appropriate object
B
2
G
4
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,136


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests