Good to switch or restart layouts?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Nov 13, 2016 4:15 am

In regards to avoiding hangups and crashes, would it be beneficial to restart/reset or change layouts?

Some features I'm about to incorporate I can use a hidden layer or use a whole new layout. It just popped into my mind about repetitive scripts (causing a browser warning) and the warning about a script causing slowdown—not to mention crashes and such. Makes me wonder if changing layouts is similar to navigating to a new page decreasing those chances.

Not sure if that makes sense but thought I would put it out there.
ImageImageImage
B
40
S
23
G
11
Posts: 498
Reputation: 10,062

Post » Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:28 am

I think it would "drain" the same amount of resources for restart and change (as you have to load again a layout) I have not used very much reset and definitely not enough to form an educated guess, but maybe @Tom and @Ashley can help you...
ImageImageImageImage
B
30
S
9
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,612

Post » Sun Nov 13, 2016 12:49 pm

The hidden layer assets will still be loaded into memory, depends what your memory usage is. It's not a good idea to load everything you need for the entire game into one layout though.
B
46
S
16
G
79
Posts: 2,170
Reputation: 46,857


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artcadev, brunopalermo, Jackriduk and 22 guests