Google is broken !!!!

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:12 pm

Search anything and you get 'this site is harmful'...oh goes the internetz are harmful!
B
4
S
2
G
5
Posts: 641
Reputation: 3,011

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:13 pm

Whoops! How did that happen?

Actually, I've noticed that the search bar on Firefox produces the broken "This site may harm your computer" results. Google(.co.uk) works as expected.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,566

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:19 pm

Whoa, that was weird. I just caught the tail end of it though, looks like it's fixed now. I had just enough time to search for "hello" and every page was harmful. Then I searched for "Scirra" and it stopped doing it.

Or... maybe that fixed it :shock:
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:20 pm

It appears to bring it up at random. Try refreshing multiple times.

Hazarding a guess I'd say Google's "harmful site" coding has broken down...
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,566

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:37 pm

Google.com is harmful! :twisted:
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:32 am

Yeah apparently someone used a forward slash instead of a backwards slash and it broke everything :P
B
4
S
2
G
5
Posts: 641
Reputation: 3,011

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:18 pm

Wow.. big error to make :P.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:52 pm

Google's way too important a thing for a typo error like that to ruin the entire service... someone's messed up. You'd think something that important would be stringently checked.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sun Feb 01, 2009 1:16 pm

[quote="Ashley":2x1uzbtz]Google's way too important a thing for a typo error like that to ruin the entire service... someone's messed up. You'd think something that important would be stringently checked.[/quote:2x1uzbtz]
Doesn't look that way though does it? Google's error checking is crappy? Yipes!
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,566

Post » Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:33 am

That happened to me just when I got my laptop working again! Thought it was a virus or something since I used my PC just earlier and everything ran fine...

Guess it was just a coincidence.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 143
Reputation: 1,536

Next

Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gfisher2003 and 2 guests