Gosh I need a better debugger

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:52 pm

Hi.

I have a button, that acts strangely when I click the button.
But I am unable to debug, because you can't place a breakpoint on a triggered event.

That so sucks!

Sorry :-) Love Construct 2, but this is something I hope will be changed in a future update.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 59
Reputation: 493

Post » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:56 pm

Can't you just right click your event and toggle break point inside c2?
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:59 pm

You can't toggle a breakpoint on a trigger event..... So If I wan't to see what happens when I click a button.. That is not possible.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 59
Reputation: 493

Post » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:06 pm

sorry yeah i just tested it. I hadn't tried using it on a triggered event yet apparently and it still listed it in the right click dialog so I just assumed it worked
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:07 pm

Use console logs
B
47
S
14
G
7
Posts: 603
Reputation: 8,151

Post » Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:05 pm

Do I have to install a plugin to use the console logs?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 59
Reputation: 493

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2015 2:19 am

Integrated browser plugin log action.
Although if you don't like it you can look in the third-part addons list there were several available.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
296
S
119
G
96
Posts: 7,328
Reputation: 71,298

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:50 am

Personally I usually just go with a "DebugLog" array, which is easy to inspect at runtime, and the Chrome JavaScript console. Not great, but better than nothing for these cases when you can't use the breakpoints
Image
Game Producer & Independent Developer - http://raphaelgervaise.com
B
24
S
9
Posts: 240
Reputation: 2,238

Post » Sat Jan 31, 2015 9:39 am

No its not great, but Chrome JavaScript Console, is a better option than having to play a sound or write som text in the game somewhere (which I do now)

So thanks for bringing the Chrome Console to my attention.

I can see on the Scirra blogs, that they have started on construct 3 development. Perhaps we will get a better debugger in Construct 3.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 59
Reputation: 493


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests