Gradient Background

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:04 am

I know Construct 2 can create solid color backgrounds on layers but, can it create gradient backgrounds? If you have ever used another program to make gradient backgrounds please let me know. Thanks for the help!
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 63
Reputation: 3,912

Post » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:44 am

Create a small (64x64 or so) gradient in any image editor and stretch it to fit your background. Works and has minimal performance impact :)
B
24
S
8
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,202

Post » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:53 am

Thanks worked like a charm!
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 63
Reputation: 3,912

Post » Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:52 am

@vee41

doesnt work for me, I created 64x64 gradient picture, then converted it to C2, resized it and when I launch it via CocoonJS - from usual 50-60 fps to 30fps :/

any other way?
B
13
S
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 1,503

Post » Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:04 pm

[QUOTE=trance] @vee41

doesnt work for me, I created 64x64 gradient picture, then converted it to C2, resized it and when I launch it via CocoonJS - from usual 50-60 fps to 30fps :/

any other way?[/QUOTE]

@trance

That is simple way to save video memory; the sprite will still have to be drawn and will have impact on performance. Here are few links to get you started on the topic:

Thehens excellent tutorial

Performance tutorialsvee412013-09-26 16:05:07
B
24
S
8
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,202

Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:32 am

@vee41

thanks for the tutorial links but there is nothing new for me... I just wanted to solve the problem with gradient background...

I really dont know how to make my background gradient with no impact (or minimal impact) on performance...
B
13
S
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 1,503

Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:01 pm

Rendering a screen sized object per tick will always impact performance, even when the smallest possible source is used. It's the size of the screen that is a factor here. If your game runs at 320x240 full size objects will be rendered faster then at 1920x1080.
If you experience just some minimal performance impact when previewing, but a drop to half via CocoonJS, chances are that there's some bottleneck in CoccoonJS.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:48 am

oh my freaking gosh... that was just straight up brilliant!. making a small size then stretched image... just brilliant man.
B
8
Posts: 6
Reputation: 327

Post » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:50 am

hey... just use something like photoshop, or gimp, and just make a small image then stretch it out. it should work just fine.
B
8
Posts: 6
Reputation: 327


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests