Graphics deformed, help.

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:56 pm

Hi.
I've working on my project and sometimes the graphics looks deformed, like this:

There are 2 examples.

So, is that from my video card? Or is there some config. I have wrong?

Thank you.
?When everyone feels hope at the same time, wonderful things can happen.
B
5
G
3
Posts: 67
Reputation: 1,059

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:33 pm

I don't know what the graphics are supposed to look like. I can't see anything wrong in the left hand picture, and I'm assuming you mean the diagonal line across the grey vertical pole in the right hand picture. It helps to have a direct side-by-side comparison.

This looks like a symptom of buggy drivers - try updating them to the latest version, I've seen similar things with very old out-of-date drivers. Out of interest, what video card do you have? I'd bet a tenner it's an Intel.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:58 pm

this could be related to the anomaly seen with the scanlines effect, when you use a number of scanlines bigger than half the vertical resolution, a diagonal line can be seen where coordinates are different. I have an ATI. I'll update drivers and try again though.

I suspect a sub-pixel difference in each triangle that can be magnified under certain conditions.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:52 pm

Well, Megaman should look like this:

Now you can see the difference.
What drivers should I update? Or how? I'm not very familiar with this.
Thanks again.
?When everyone feels hope at the same time, wonderful things can happen.
B
5
G
3
Posts: 67
Reputation: 1,059

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:04 pm

[quote="Carlos182":27xypqn7]
What drivers should I update? Or how? I'm not very familiar with this.
Thanks again.[/quote:27xypqn7]

Update you video card driver.

The pole sheering can be a few other things like a lower end video card, or a setting that permits sheering for speed.
B
28
S
8
G
8
Posts: 530
Reputation: 7,154

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:12 pm

If you're on Vista or 7 go to Computer, click System Properties in the bar along the top, click on "Windows Experience Index", then "View and print detailed performance and system information". Under the "Graphics" header you should see something like:
Display adapter type: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series
That's my graphics card, so to update the drivers I'd go to the ATI website and look for a driver for the Radeon HD 3400. I can't remember how to get there on XP, or even if it tells you!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:34 pm

It sure looks pretty weird. Also it looks so blurry. Are you sure your sampling is set to point?
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:18 pm

just throwing this out there: did you accidentally stretch the megaman sprite? Try setting the width to 30.

Also, try this.

Always>
megaman: set position to round(.x) round(.y)
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:23 pm

[quote="Davioware":zubivyor]Also, try this.

Always>
megaman: set position to round(.x) round(.y)[/quote:zubivyor]

You shouldn't need to do that if the filtering is set to Point.

Which it should be. Because the screenshots are blurry.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:55 am

no positioning or stretching or rotating or filtering setting should EVER yield a diagonal discontinuity in mapping.

This is either a Construct issue or a driver issue.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests