Grouping objects (for layout purposes)

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:58 am

Hi there, I hope this isn't a stupid question. I'm working on a game with quite a few layers and objects and sometimes find that selecting and moving what I want is a little difficult in Construct. Is there an option that I have overlooked to 'group' objects together so that they can be moved as one (like in graphics programs such as Illustrator or Indesign)?

I know you can shift click objects to move more than one, but I'm using a lot of normal maps so this doesn't really work well, neither does the click & drag method (buggy?). Anyway, if anyone can shed some light it would be much appreciated :)
B
47
S
16
G
3
Posts: 134
Reputation: 4,982

Post » Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:52 am

Not sure about the grouping, but I know the click/drag/highlight select only grabs objects when you drag over ALL 4 points of the bounding box.
B
17
S
3
G
4
Posts: 91
Reputation: 3,929

Post » Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:14 am

I've been looking for such a function/tool for a long time. I feel stupid too because I can't imagine how you can build a big project/levels without any mean to group/parent object via and editor tool.

If none exist I guess building/editing your levels in photoshop is the best/only option.

So many dash in that post... trololol
B
4
S
2
G
2
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,366

Post » Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:39 am

Unfortunately Constructs editor wasn't designed for this kind of grouping. Most users who need that kind of functionality have opted to create their own editors. If you do a search on the forum, you'll probably notice quite a few topics on the matter.


[QUOTE=Gropwel]If none exist I guess building/editing your levels in photoshop is the best/only option.[/QUOTE]

Actually its not a very good option if you plan on importing large images into the program. Construct works best with many smaller (optimized IE p^2) images.
Its not very time effective, unless you use a custom editor, but on the other hand, smaller images used as multiple instances do not add to vram once the initial image is imported.newt2011-08-18 06:42:42
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,351
Reputation: 66,757

Post » Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:00 am

Oh thanks now I can stop searching for it.

Ya you're right about the texture size. I guess I meant using modularity to the max, like building a couple forest tiles of 256 x 256 instead of a bunch of tree objects, just for manipulation efficiency.

My shift+click folder idea doesn't work either since you can't create more than level 1 folders hierarchy in the project tree.
B
4
S
2
G
2
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,366


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests