Guide: Fix Jank in r190+ Node-Webkit Export

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:15 pm

facecjf wrote:For information purposes:

I tested previews and exports with the following versions of C2 and NW.
(r190, r192, and r193) + NW 11.5 = still stuttering.
I reverted back to NW 10.5 (Win 32bit) and it's smooth again.

Hardware Specs:
xeon 3.5ghz
32 gb ram
solid states
nvidia gtx650 ti

These are just my findings, though I am curious of others results as well


Thanks for testing and sharing. :)

I looked at the changelog and it seems pretty minor, just two changes listed:

    Fix: Normal frame should not simulate user input events (File input dialog)
    Fix: crash in debug session of WebStorm (WEB-14378)

I am a bit curious what that first change means exactly. Anybody here understand the platform well enough to explain?
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:35 am

This doesn't exactly seem to be working for me. I replaced the files in BOTH 32 and 64, but it still seems janky. However, when I export it and replace the files in the export 32 folder, it plays fine. I'm wondering if I have it set to always use 64 bit node webkit. Is there a way to change this to make sure it's loading the 32 bit? I even tried placing the 32 bit in the 64 bit folder...
B
40
S
12
G
1
Posts: 533
Reputation: 4,149

Post » Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:21 am

@ome6a1717

Sorry, I just don't understand you. Are you say that node is 'janking' on preview, but not on export? Or that the 64 bit version is janking? What version of C2 are you on? I haven't migrated to r195 yet, so I'm not sure if this guide will still work with it.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:49 am

@TiAm - I'm saying it works with neither preview or export, but if I export and then replace the files in the exported win32 folder, it runs fine (meaning somehow it's not loading the correct version of node-webkit on preview).
B
40
S
12
G
1
Posts: 533
Reputation: 4,149

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:15 am

@ome6a1717

I'm afraid I still don't quite understand. Which files are you replacing post-export that get the game to run correctly? Have you run dxwebsetup.exe (maybe you are defaulting to canvas2d mode)?

Anyway, I'm also bumping this thread to let everyone know that Node-Webkit 10.5 still works in C2 r195, the latest stable. Personally, I still prefer it to the latest version of node, which has been renamed NW.js.

Still, NW.js is the best version since 10.5, so it might be worth checking out. Here's a thread by Ashley where he links to an alpha version:

nw-js-formerly-node-webkit-news-and-update_t122727
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:33 am

@TiAm why do you still prefer 10.5? 12 alpha2 seems to fix every jank problem for me, even though CPU usage is still weirdly higher than 10.5 and previous. But overall, i feel the game runs even smoother (placebo?).
B
65
S
22
G
4
Posts: 358
Reputation: 6,555

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:57 am

@Danwood

Basically, for the very reason you mentioned: cpu use seems to be a bit higher. Also, I have seen some isolated stutter, though it's very minor and infrequent. On 0.10.5 I don't see any jitter after the first few seconds. And, of course, there is the 'alpha' part; 10.5 was a very stable release that has minimal bugs, whereas 12.x is still pretty new.

All that being said, I'm thinking (hoping) this thread won't be relevant much longer, as the newest release is coming pretty close to parity.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:06 am

@TiAm yea let's hope to see this issue closed soon, i want the best for me gama, biatches!
B
65
S
22
G
4
Posts: 358
Reputation: 6,555

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:13 am

@TiAm - when you export via node-webkit, it creates 6 (I think?) folders. Linux32, 64, OSX 32, 64, and WIN32, 64. Basically I'm taking the updated files from Ashley and copying them and replacing them over the WIN32 folder from my export and running that. So when it works, it's not actually working from a preview mode in Construct, but it's working from the actually exported nw.exe file. Hopefully that makes a bit more sense?
B
40
S
12
G
1
Posts: 533
Reputation: 4,149

Post » Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:36 pm

10.5 still runs better for me. Smooth as butter, baby!
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,974

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests