[Guide] Making Mobile Games Using Construct 2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:14 am

We're waiting for iOS 5, which has a hardware accelerated canvas and should be much faster!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,554

Post » Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:18 am

[QUOTE=Ashley] We're waiting for iOS 5, which has a hardware accelerated canvas and should be much faster![/QUOTE]

I have an iPod with iOS5 beta at work, I can post my results there on monday :D
B
107
S
40
G
10
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,202

Post » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:38 am

Sweet, eagerly anticipating the results! :D
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,422

Post » Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:29 pm

'sup folks!

Just ran a small game I made test C2 and the results on iOS5 were impressive. It ran really well, over 30 FPS for sure.

But my game was intended to be light, so I added a few more objects and made the biggest sprites rotate with every tick. There were no significant changes in the framerate, although we made a garbage collector to help improve the performance and seconds before running it we had some slow down.

I didn't test sounds on this game. Nor the recent physics.

I am very impressed by the results, now we just have to wait for these improvements to go live. :D
B
107
S
40
G
10
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,202

Post » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:16 pm

@gammabeam That's great news! Thanks for the update
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
124
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,897

Post » Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:23 pm

C2 running great on 1GHz or more Android Phones. I've tested it on Samsung Galaxy S II, and Xperia Play
B
17
S
3
G
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 2,747

Post » Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:23 pm

Nice guide, good work!

I experimented with phonegap a while ago and I ran into a few gotcha's that I posted here:
http://www.scirra.com/forum/experiment-running-a-game-on-an-android_topic43897.html

4 hickups I had along the way:

1. Android SDK didn't detect my Java SDK install, if that happends just click "back" and "next" again on the installer (known issue with java installer).

2. The android SDK installed in c:\program files(x86)\android-sdk by default for me. When you are entering the path of your Android SDK in Eclipse you need to use C:\PROGRA~2\Android\android-sdk cause it didn't like the spaces.

3. When I re-ran the app on the Android emulator I just got my original HelloWorld example again. Not sure what went wrong but I deleted the Virtual Device in the AVD Manager and created a new one.

4. By the way the Android emulator can take ages to boot up 2-3mins, I thought it was broken the first time but it was just slow.ShabbyCat2011-09-28 13:24:56
B
15
S
1
G
3
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1,912

Post » Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:14 pm

@gammabeam Hi, have you had the time to test sounds since then?

Edit: tried with the iOS 5 simulator, and sound doesn't work... However this should be solved soon - see bottom of this thread's pagestiepan2011-10-31 23:46:13
B
10
G
2
Posts: 15
Reputation: 1,325

Post » Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:46 am

@Ashley, @Tom:
question: why the change from cr. to cr_ ??
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 347
Reputation: 2,866

Post » Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:23 am

it's quite funny that almost 2 years later it is possible to get similar speed on Android phones and mobiles :) (with quad core CPUs and so on)
B
18
S
6
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,167

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zackKim and 13 guests