Have you ever dealing with this?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:10 pm

When i load an image(sprite) which the size is so big about 3200px, the image wont show on the layout but when you run its show up?

Screenshot_15.jpg






Screenshot_16.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 10
Reputation: 429

Post » Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:18 pm

It's not right to upload images bigger than 1024*1204 px.
B
60
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 9,155

Post » Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:23 pm

So is that happen to you too?
B
6
S
1
Posts: 10
Reputation: 429

Post » Sat Jul 05, 2014 2:33 pm

Hi, would be good idea to search 'remember not to waste your memory', which is a blog written by Ashley. It will help you a great deal in the long run. :)
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
34
S
12
G
7
Posts: 358
Reputation: 7,148

Post » Sat Jul 05, 2014 2:41 pm

i hope someone could try to import big sized sprite like me and post the screenshot here? I guess its about my old graphic that cause the problem :(
B
6
S
1
Posts: 10
Reputation: 429

Post » Sat Jul 05, 2014 5:07 pm

You're better to break that into tiles that repeat (TiledBackground objects) and then position them. Smaller objects perform better as well as preventing that issue in the layout.

As for why it's not rendering, try zooming out in the layout editor, but that image is definitely too big and should be in smaller pieces.

In fact, here's an example of the tiles that can be pulled just from the screenshot :) Image
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (but not play them)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit Dropbox is a pile of trash and if you need my old files PM me! :)
B
116
S
40
G
17
Posts: 2,197
Reputation: 19,433

Post » Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:06 pm

Your graphics card can't handle a texture that size. The image editor is software rendered, which it why it appears there. As said, don't use single images for levels. Break them up and use instances of sprites and/or tiled backgrounds. https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory
Moderator
B
94
S
33
G
33
Posts: 3,006
Reputation: 27,749

Post » Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:53 am

4096 x 4096 textures (that is what your sprite becomes in memory because its larger than 2048 x 2048) aren't supported on a lot of older GPUs.

Also. NEVER make an entire scene with 1 super large image.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: digitalsoapbox, Rastacity and 12 guests