Having Troubles with an climbing ledge animation

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:54 pm

Hi!
I've been having troubles for already 2 days trying to get the climb animation to work. Actually what happens is that the Player first goes up to the top of the tile (New X, Y position) so the animation is played not while climbing but instead on the new position. I'm sorry I cannot post a capx file since I'm quite advanced in my prototype. Hope the screenshots can be of any help.

Thanks in advance!

Code in Player Animations:
Image

Code in Player Controls:
Image
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:05 pm

Nevermind :D
Actually I completely forgot to check the origin point location. Thanks :)
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:29 pm

Actually, having another small issue with this. Again, sorry if I don't post a capx since I'm too advanced in the development of my prototype.

The issue is: Currently the origin point of the grab_ledge animation is set at the center bottom of the sprite and then during climb_ledge animation I switch it to the top of the sprite. I'm having a small ghost frame in-between that seems to move down really fast and then go back to the position (top of the ledge). The frame moving weird seems to be grab_ledge one.

Thanks in advance.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Wed Jan 14, 2015 7:37 pm

It's pretty difficult for me to fix this without testing and I see no1 else is responding so it's not just me. You got 2 choices now, fix it yourself or find someone trustworthy that is willing to help you. I would go for the first option, it may seem impossible to sometimes, but there's always a solution.
B
18
S
4
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,199

Post » Wed Jan 14, 2015 8:24 pm

Just out of curiosity, why are you moving the anchor point mid-animation?
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
19
S
5
G
2
Posts: 538
Reputation: 3,243

Post » Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:13 pm

Because I haven't found a better way to do the climb_ledge properly @brunopalermo

@Remus B I know there's always a solution. I just want to avoid making people load a bigger file size which uses many plugins they might not have installed.
I'm simply trying to understand what might cause this or if someone else had the same issues.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:00 pm

Definitely not a good idea... But without a capx it's hard to come up with a better one. :(
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
19
S
5
G
2
Posts: 538
Reputation: 3,243

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:28 pm

I move one of the image points of the animated sprite and not the PlayerDetect. I also used this on a cinematic platformer with no issues.
also, actually resolved this by simply forcing the first frame of the climb animation in place. Now works perfectly.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests