Help me come with ideas of solution!

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 2:01 pm

I'm currently developing a iOS app, it's a quiz game.
Currently the plan is to update the quiz every week and I haven't come up with another way of updating the quiz than updating the app every week.

Is there a way to update the quiz remotely? Without having to create a new build?
I was thinking of using AJAX to get text from a file on a website, but it seems like kind of a hazzle. I'm looking for a easier way!
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 2:35 pm

How can simple pulling of external xml be a hassle?? That is the simplest solution one could imagine.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 68
Reputation: 645

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 3:12 pm

Create a database and then every time user opens the quiz (or once per week, whatever), send a GET request and check new questions. Then save them into the game and voila, you have it. ;)
(it may not be as easy as I wrote :P)

And every week or so add questions into the database.
B
32
S
7
G
4
Posts: 400
Reputation: 4,595

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 6:18 pm

grigrizljac wrote:Create a database and then every time user opens the quiz (or once per week, whatever), send a GET request and check new questions. Then save them into the game and voila, you have it. ;)
(it may not be as easy as I wrote :P)

And every week or so add questions into the database.

Yes, this is definitly the easiest solution.
B
12
S
3
Posts: 211
Reputation: 1,477

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 7:10 pm

grigrizljac wrote:Create a database and then every time user opens the quiz (or once per week, whatever), send a GET request and check new questions. Then save them into the game and voila, you have it. ;)
(it may not be as easy as I wrote :P)

And every week or so add questions into the database.

If I'm not wrong that's basically the same way as if I'd use my tactic (ajax) :P
I guess it's the best way to do this
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Mon May 04, 2015 11:57 am

Is it possible to use AJAX and request a file but only output a certain part of it as text?
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Mon May 04, 2015 12:29 pm

condolent wrote:Is it possible to use AJAX and request a file but only output a certain part of it as text?

I think it's the easiest way to send a kind of version with the GET Ajax request. On the server side, check that version and send the text that is new to the user.
That's only one of possible solutions, it may not be as easy as I wrote :P
B
32
S
7
G
4
Posts: 400
Reputation: 4,595


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests