HELP: MOUSE-CLICK NOT RESPONSIVE

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:51 am

hello everyone:
on my game menu screen, i have a 3 sprite objects showing custom imagines that depict difficulty levels (e.g, "easy", "regular", "hard"). so when you left-click "easy", the easy sprite changes to show that it's highlighted.

my problem is this: the left-click "code" works, exactly as i wanted but it's not responsive...sometimes i left-click on the sprites nothing happens, and so i end up left-clicking all over the "easy" sprite until the code is "activated" and the image changes. i have the same "unresponsive" issue with the other 2 sprites, what can be the problem and how shall i correct it?

please help, this is not a good way to have my game working...with unresponsive menus, right from the get go.
B
131
S
40
G
10
Posts: 131
Reputation: 13,445

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:58 am

Post a .capx
B
97
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,361

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:59 am

how do i post a capx?
B
131
S
40
G
10
Posts: 131
Reputation: 13,445

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:06 am

You could probably solve it by adding a system wait 0 before you change the state of your sprite.

I'm guessing you have an event straight after this one to do the opposite of this event and they both get triggered.

It would be better to create an else event in order to toggle.

On clicked if these conditions are met - do this
else - do that

I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:12 am

LittleStain: if its not too much trouble, can you please give me an example "code" of the "On clicked if these conditions are met - do this
else - do that", or how to "a system wait 0"?
B
131
S
40
G
10
Posts: 131
Reputation: 13,445

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:23 am

how about checking your collision box of the image?
B
17
S
8
G
4
Posts: 93
Reputation: 3,190

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:25 am

what's a "collision box of the image" and how do i check/alter it?

sorry about all the basic questions; new to C2 from GM 8.1. sorry about all the basic questions, and thank you all for all your help
B
131
S
40
G
10
Posts: 131
Reputation: 13,445

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:28 am

Double click on your sprite object which will pop up a image editor.
On the left side of the image editor select "set collision polygon", which is the last icon.
The blue box is the area that can be clicked.
B
17
S
8
G
4
Posts: 93
Reputation: 3,190

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:30 am

I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:33 am

c4sp3r89
thank you very much. i went there, as you directed; and the blue lines were all over the place; i moved them around into a normal square covering my sprite; the the result is AWESOME!!!!

problem solved, thank you...and also, again thank you everyone for taking the time to help me !!! :-)
B
131
S
40
G
10
Posts: 131
Reputation: 13,445

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HenryPK and 9 guests