Hidden features #1: importing images

Post your own tutorials, guides and demos.

Post » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:33 pm

...Yes they do. what kind of files are you using? *.tga, *.png?
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:37 pm

PNG, pretty much. Pretty much black where the transparency should be.
B
94
S
37
G
11
Posts: 404
Reputation: 11,275

Post » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:40 pm

then try *.tga - one of them works for 100%
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:47 pm

Well, THAT works... But why the hell does TNG work and not PNG? The latter has a smaller file size, for pete's sake.
B
94
S
37
G
11
Posts: 404
Reputation: 11,275

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:05 am

either way, this is another key feature gone undocumented (until now) & hidden behind a context-menu in an unconspicious place. don't hide your lights under the bushels, devs!

now, for right-clicking everything else i haven't right-clicked yet ...
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 171
Reputation: 1,792

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:19 pm

And I was the person Rich talked about :D

Gee, I also didn't know about this. And the png transparency issue is an issue since I think everyone's using pngs. Smaller filesizes, alpha channel and a lossless look -> Feature Request!

Oh, and someone in the chat talked about a hotkey editor - But I can't seem to find it now. If I go to file - preferences, I only get AutoSave in the prefs. A Hotkey editor to setup keys for, say, Run Layout would definitely be helpful.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:31 pm

The interface/ribbon/hotkey options can be found via the 'Options' button; I've renamed 'Preferences' to 'Construct Preferences' for the next build so it's a bit clearer.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:26 pm

I imported tiles from PNG with transparency without any trouble.
Careful, as some softwares incorrectly save PNG transparency (some versions of photoshop do!!)
Might wanna try saving copies in different programs and testing each in Construct.
If that's the problem then it's not a Construct bug.
I ran into this issue when coding with SDL_IMAGE and using photoshop 6 I think. The "save as" and "save for web" codepaths were different and only "save for web" made correct PNGs.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:29 am

[quote="Madster":1e9s75wd]The "save as" and "save for web" codepaths were different and only "save for web" made correct PNGs.[/quote:1e9s75wd]

When using Photoshop, you should ALWAYS use save for web (SHIFT+CTRL+ALT+S) unless you are saving a PSD file. Save for web not only stores correct alpha data, it optimises the file size of the image, reducing it by up to 1000%.

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:50 am

[quote="Rich":1ag0mgdt]The interface/ribbon/hotkey options can be found via the 'Options' button; I've renamed 'Preferences' to 'Construct Preferences' for the next build so it's a bit clearer.[/quote:1ag0mgdt]

Uhm. Maybe I'm really blind here, but where is that mysterious 'Options' button? I'm on 98.8 now and I still have the 'Preferences' Entry under file, but the only thing it addresses is AutoSave.

So where can I set the hotkeys? There's no options button under File and there's nothing in the tabs.

EDIT: Oh man, now I see it! You meant that little Arrow and then I have to go to 'Customize Quick Access Toolbar' so that I can set hotkeys - I _never_ would've thought of that. Why don't you guys just add this dialog through File - Preferences? It'd be a lot simpler to find and most apps I use use the File - Customize Dialog Box anyway.
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

PreviousNext

Return to Your tutorials & example files

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests