Hidden/lock objects by canvas

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:04 pm

Hello,

I would like to suggest this feature:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/47035927/temp/hidden%20and%20lock%20sprites%20on%20the%20scenario.png

And the scenario objects by canvas, where you'll can lock objects on the canvas, and hidden them to help you select and place other between two objects.

Why I'm suggesting this is because I never can select and move the objects between a scenario object (who need to be in the same layer of the other objects) and the behind small objects.



To move the player on the image above, you need to move the mountain to another layer, hide it and move the player =\
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,209
Reputation: 18,357

Post » Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:52 pm

Why not just organise your objects on to lots of separate layers? E.g. background, platforms, game objects, foreground, etc.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,554

Post » Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:00 pm

That's an organization type =]

This way will not impact on the game performance for large projects?

I'll try to organize like you said and see if works fine.

Thanks.

Edited: The use of many layers is absolutely viable and is very nice and clean =P

Amazing, I get stuck in my thoughts because of the use of old tools using different systems.

Recommended, and it's a best practice to be ADD on the http://www.scirra.com/manual/34/best-practices article.TELLES08082012-07-06 18:14:48
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,209
Reputation: 18,357

Post » Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:25 pm

It's mentioned in Performance Tips:

[quote]Common misconceptions
...
Number of layers usually has no effect, unless most of the layers have changed their opacity or use 'force own texture'. However typically there is no performance impact from using multiple layers.[/quote]

In other words, if you don't change any layer opacities or use 'force own textures', 100 layers each with a few objects is rendered as efficiently as having all the objects on 1 layer.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,554

Post » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:30 pm

I would definitely suggest you start organizing with layers, because it can do exactly what you are asking.
B
16
S
6
G
6
Posts: 100
Reputation: 4,840

Post » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:53 pm

If I didn't use layers I'd be having a whole load of hassle and pain. It's fundamental to the way I work.
B
31
S
11
G
7
Posts: 197
Reputation: 6,682


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RookieDev, Thirstyy and 11 guests