Hide Interstitial Ads?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:43 pm

I've got an issue where my interstitial ads gets delayed when appearing on my main menu, and so sometimes the ad will appear during gameplay and thus interupting the game.

I wanted to try and remedy this issue by hiding the interstitial ad at the start of my gameplay layout so there are no interruptions, but i can't find a way to do so.

Is there a way to hide interstitial ads? I know there's an action for hide banner ads, but nothing for interstitial ads. Is there a way to go about doing this?

Thanks
B
5
S
2
Posts: 126
Reputation: 876

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:19 pm

Hi @tomhaiger - I have no experience of these ads yet. Where do they originate from?
Image
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 346
Reputation: 1,560

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:59 pm

@hundredfold Interstitial ads are just full screen ads, i'm sure there's a more technical explanation to that, which someone else could better explain :) But thats all interstitial ads are as far as i know.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 126
Reputation: 876

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:27 pm

Thanks @tomhaiger. Do you program these in yourself? If so, do you control when and where they appear?
Image
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 346
Reputation: 1,560

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:35 pm

I'm using Admob Ads to create my ads in game, i should have mentioned that in my first post.

Admob Ads is an object which is built in to Construct. To add this to your game, just right click and go create new object, and then go to the monetisation heading and select Admob ads.

You can control when and where they appear through events, but i'm having a little trouble with it as i'm getting a slight delay as to when they appear.

This delay i'm getting means that sometimes the Interstitial ad appear during gameplay, which is quite intrusive. I wanted to create a work around for this by hiding the Interstitial ad during gameplay.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 126
Reputation: 876

Post » Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:54 pm

Bump. Can anyone help?
B
5
S
2
Posts: 126
Reputation: 876

Post » Thu Nov 27, 2014 5:55 pm

I'm not sure if it'll work, but you could try setting your ads through global variables? You could do something like having your variable set at 1 at the beginning to show ads and set it to 0 during gameplay.

I haven't tried this , so I don't know if it'll work but it's a suggestion.

To be honest, I would have thought that the option to hide interstitial ads would be available seeing as there is one for banner ads, but then again I don't know much about implementing these things into Construct 2 so who knows really.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 116
Reputation: 867

Post » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:54 pm

Thanks, I'll give it a go and see what happens.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 126
Reputation: 876

Post » Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:14 pm

Make sure you preload the interstitial so there should be no delay showing it. Don't attempt to show it until you check for On interstitial received. Only show it at the end of the game where timing doesn't matter.
B
24
S
9
G
4
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 6,596

Post » Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:21 pm

@codah Thanks, thats actually helped. I've never used preload interstitial before as i didn't notice a difference, but i've noticed that if i set preload interstitial on the layout before i want my ads to show, it works without much delay.

I've got just a few more thing i need help with -

1. After using preload interstitial, the interstitial ads don't show up all the time, only around 3 out of 5 times. It used to show up all the time before using preload, albiet it would be delayed as mentioned previously.

2. When using preload banner, for some reason when the banner loads it's a smart banner, even though the size of my banner that i selected was 'banner'. After a while it does change to the correct size but is there a reason why it switches to smart banner first?

3. Last thing is, does the preload action usually affect the gameplay if it's used at the start of that layout? I have a interstitial and banner ad shown on my game over screen, and when i use the preload interstitial and banner ads, the ads show up how i want which is great. But i've noticed that my game does lag when using the preload action on the gameplay layout, which wasn't the case before using this.

Thanks
Last edited by tomhaiger on Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 126
Reputation: 876

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests