Hiding game files

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu May 19, 2011 8:11 pm

Hey guys!

Is there any way to hide the files in the game folders? Mainly sound effects and musics...

Or some way of disguising the file extensions?



Thanks;)
B
4
S
3
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 1,450

Post » Thu May 19, 2011 9:16 pm

Sounds and musics can be included as resources. Other files can also be hidden using the Resource Plugin I think. As for file renaming, I've only tried renaming the extension of an INI (that works fine).
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Thu May 19, 2011 9:36 pm

[quote="Jayjay":3hgbjdec]Sounds and musics can be included as resources.[/quote:3hgbjdec]

Can you explain how to do that? I've serched the wiki and there seems to be a resource tab which my installed version doesn't have... I'm missing something right? :oops:
B
4
S
3
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 1,450

Post » Thu May 19, 2011 9:52 pm

Thanks Jayjay, I didn't know about R0J0s resource plugin yet :).

Ah Pyteo: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=6409&hilit=resource+plug
Download the examples! :P
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Fri May 20, 2011 4:12 am

There is no resource tab anymore, just go to the project tab in the bottom right.

In the list of folders you'll notice a sound and music folder. Right click on them, then add sounds. (i've never used this feature before though, so don't know if it works.)
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Fri May 20, 2011 7:09 am

If you add a resource, the music file is still required. So it isn't hidden for other users?^^
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Fri May 20, 2011 7:30 am

[quote="zyblade":3odpzaif]If you add a resource, the music file is still required. So it isn't hidden for other users?^^[/quote:3odpzaif]

The music file is extracted to a temporary file I think (still possible to get, but much harder to find). To play the sound use "Play from resource" on XAudio2 instead.
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Sat May 21, 2011 11:22 am

If I add a resource, a soundfile for example, construct is loading the soundfile, from the directory from where I imported the file. If I delete or rename it, construct will crash.

Thats is what happened to me...
Construct needed still the original soundfile to play it, it didn't imported the soundfile into the project or the .exe.
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Sat May 21, 2011 11:42 am

[quote="zyblade":b18f16zh]If I add a resource, a soundfile for example, construct is loading the soundfile, from the directory from where I imported the file. If I delete or rename it, construct will crash.

Thats is what happened to me...
Construct needed still the original soundfile to play it, it didn't imported the soundfile into the project or the .exe.[/quote:b18f16zh]

Not sure why it isn't working right, can you upload a cap/zip file for me to check it out?
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Sat May 21, 2011 12:11 pm

I added a mp3 file in musics and a wav file in sounds.
(rightclick sounds/music -> add sounds/music)
I tried to play from resource if I press s key.
But If I click on the resource list (play music from resource) It says, there are no files.
The list is empty. The test.cap is 25kb..the soundfile I added more than 1mb.
Its pointless to upload the .cap without the music in it I think^^..
Could you make a very basic example? (I use construct 1.2)
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests