Honours Project

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
With this template you can create your own archer game and customize it however you want.
  • G'day folks

I'll try and keep my story short, I'm currently in my 4th year of a videogames design course, with that we get ample freedom to do what we like for our honours project. For mine I've decided to try the "one man developer" and build a 2D game from scratch by myself.

After careful consideration I've narrowed my choices of game engines and I'm quite impressed with Construct, to work with little to no knowledge of coding but still able to develop a game is attractive, it appeals to me since I have very rudimentary knowledge of coding and this engine would allow me to focus more on the art/sprite creation aspects of the game itself.

My game concept is still in development but it centre's around a broken/damaged humanoid robot being re-activated with a corrupted memory in a foreign land. Its guided by an activated "Home Signal" that propels his purpose to discover who or what he is. Its to be a 2D platformer with a heavy combat elements, I'll explain more with time, however with my research semester coming to a close, my time for research is drawing thin and from what I've seen and read from Deadeye's platform tutorial, Construct can easily handle platformers. My worry is however, is just how deep I can make gameplay within Construct, which, in a rather long winded way, is why I wish to ask if the following is creatable within Construct in a platformer genre (I'll worry about the how when I've dedicated enough time to delve deeper into Construct):

Wall jumping: Jumping from wall to wall (in a similar fashion to say, Samus in the 2D metroid games)

Heavy Combat: Dedicated combo system, Advanced enemy AI (Can they programmed to do more than say, kill on touch or fight equally with the player)