Hosting Game for Facebook

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:16 am

I have troubles hosting my game for Facebook so I can add Leaderboard and HighScore sharing, will it work if I pay for a dropbox acc so I can make a public folder and host it there? I tried hosting it for free on http://www.000webhost.com/ but I can't figure out how to make a canvas URL so that facebook accepts it. This is what the facebook console says when I try to enter "app domain": "This must be derived from Canvas URL, Secure Canvas URL, Unity Binary URL, Site URL, Mobile Site URL, Page Tab URL or Secure Page Tab URL. Check and correct the following domains: doringameshost.webuda.com". I also have a weebly website, but I have no idea how to host the game there.
Thx in advance!
B
18
S
4
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,199

Post » Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:45 am

You need to have ssl (https) enabled. I tried the 000webhost free hosting before, sadly it doesn't come with ssl. Thats something you have to pay for. Also they are crazy slow. For fb apps you actually have to shell out some cash at some point. Its for security reasons for devs, fb, and the users. There is currently no reasonably cheap or free way to get it. Self signing doesn't work either.

:( sorry I can't post full links yet...

You can try: heroku (dot) com/pricing Free to sign up and I think your first Dyno(server) is free.

Check: developers (dot) facebook (dot) c0m/blog/post/558/ for more info on how to set that up with them.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 80
Reputation: 854

Post » Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:53 am

Thx a lot for pointing me in the right direction :D, this means a lot, if you need anything at some point don't hesitate to contact me!
B
18
S
4
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,199

Post » Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:44 am

Jermfire wrote:You need to have ssl (https) enabled. I tried the 000webhost free hosting before, sadly it doesn't come with ssl. Thats something you have to pay for. Also they are crazy slow. For fb apps you actually have to shell out some cash at some point. Its for security reasons for devs, fb, and the users. There is currently no reasonably cheap or free way to get it. Self signing doesn't work either.

:( sorry I can't post full links yet...

You can try: heroku (dot) com/pricing Free to sign up and I think your first Dyno(server) is free.

Check: developers (dot) facebook (dot) c0m/blog/post/558/ for more info on how to set that up with them.


http://www.heroku.com/pricing
https://developers.facebook.com/blog/post/558
~Everyone can make GAMEs~
B
55
S
11
G
1
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,786

Post » Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:40 pm

Not sure how well it works, but I'm currently trying to use dropbox to host fb app. It has https enabled.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 80
Reputation: 854


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Laura_D, plinkie and 19 guests