How can I record a gameplay of my game?

Discussion of tools and resources for game developers

Post » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:56 pm

Hi,

I want to record some gameplay of my videogame.
I have fraps.

But the problem is when I record the browser appears the navigation bar, the taskbar and more.

And I want to only show the gameplay, is there any program where I can cut the part that I'm interested to show?

Regards
Image
Image
B
26
S
2
G
1
Posts: 71
Reputation: 2,662

Post » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:28 pm

why not recording in fullscreen mode ?
B
38
S
11
G
5
Posts: 485
Reputation: 5,340

Post » Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:50 am

camtasia studio, there you can scale the record window
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 197
Reputation: 4,129

Post » Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:25 am

Compile your game to your desktop PC, install it on your computer and use fraps to record it ;)
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
98
S
33
G
30
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 27,791

Post » Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:54 am

Lots of ways to do it but as AndreasR said. You can compile it. If you have premiere pro or after effects or another video editing software you can use that to crop the video to just show the actual game.
B
54
S
23
G
12
Posts: 747
Reputation: 11,910

Post » Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:57 pm

Thanks for all your suggestions!

I tried with fullscreen + fraps, but Fraps didn't work fine.

At the end, It was edited with Sony Vegas.

Here's the video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39iwzOk ... e=youtu.be

Thanks!
Image
Image
B
26
S
2
G
1
Posts: 71
Reputation: 2,662

Post » Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:47 pm

https://obsproject.com/

Free, records everything, f#ck fraps :D
B
33
S
6
G
7
Posts: 339
Reputation: 7,426

Post » Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:32 pm

Hi Guys, I want to record gameplay aswell and havent found my perfect solution yet.

dxtory ver2.0.127 (2014/06/09) failed to recognize the Node-Webkit export by Version r190 (32 and 64bit windows).
It didnt recognize my browser preview either (Google chrome Version 39.0.2171.95 m)
It did recognize the main window of C2 (the one with the layouts and event sheets). Not much of a use trying to record gameplay though .-)
It was working fine maybe half a year ago but now it doesnt anymore. Thought maybe it had to do with directx issues,
so i updated DXTory to the version above, but it didnt solve the problem. Nothing recorded.

Now im trying OBS.
Everything is set up as in a tut video for gameplay recording.
It has found the running webkit task as a source, but it only recorded audio and a black screen.
There was a Fail notice twice, due to a interference with DXtory, so i added OBS to the ignore list in DXtory as mentioned in the failure notice.
Pc and software restarts however didnt seem to have made a difference, except the failure notice doesnt appear, but still black screen only is recorded.
If i changed to record the [DWM: Record Monitor] which is basically recording everything that is displayed on the monitor screen i finally get video with picture.
The result was rather laggy though. So i tried different bit sizes, screen resolutions etc, all of them lagging the same way.
The lagg was so hard it affected gameplay and so far doesnt qualify for a trailer.

I tried Fraps earlier in 2014 which didnt lead to any quality results back then either.

Heres my PC specs:
AMD Phenom2 3.00 ghz
4,00 GB Ram
ATI Radeon HD 5700 (1GB Ram)
W7 - 64-bit
Game starts from a HDD and is recorded to a new SSD.
W7 Aero turned off as recommended by OBS itself.

Anyone has any ideas?
Has anyone occured the same problems?
What other programs do people here use to record SC2 gameplay?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 415

Post » Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:48 pm

I like http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/. They've been around for a few years and I've had pretty good luck recording with them in the past. Since the recorder is a java applet, you don't have to install anything and you can resize the capture window. I've recorded everything from emulated games to presentations with it. It also uploads to Youtube fairly simply.

Disclaimer: Free version is limited to 15 minutes per video but that should probably be more than adequate for the majority of situations.
Framerate is also capped at 15fps.
B
31
S
7
G
8
Posts: 232
Reputation: 6,254

Post » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:11 pm

I was going to make a similar question: "how to capture the gameplay of my game".

if someone knows another ways of capture/record, please post here. ;)
B
67
S
32
G
69
Posts: 217
Reputation: 40,060

Next

Return to Tools and Resources

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests