How do I acces an instance variable from family

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
A collection of various zombie characters sprites for creating a 2D platformer or sidescroller game
  • Hi all

I am just starting out with construct 2 and try to understand everything

So far everything works pretty well, but now I am stuck at some point and just can’t figure it out myself.

Here is a link to better understand where I am stuck…

[attachment=0:38hj0w7t][/attachment:38hj0w7t]

In general what I am missing is some kind of a database or global values for objects which are easy to set…

I am trying to build a game which has many items. Naturally each item has different values. At the beginning I try to keep it simple, so there are the objects “stations, asteroids, different ships”

All those objects have some variables likle “Name, Shield, Mass, Max Speed” which I want to display on a HUD. So here are my Questions:

1) Is there a way to easily insert all those values for all objects in a table style or do I have to create every instance variable for every object manually even if it is from the same type? I tried to copy paste them, but with no luck.

2) As you can see I have grouped the objects in a family. Now that I want to show the description I must select the instance variable from the object which is selected. But I can only access the instance variables of the FAMILY how can I get the variables from the selected object?

Am I doing something wrong or is my whole approach to do this wrong? The select and target the selected object works pretty nice… so I would like if I could get the description to work. Also a database style workflow would save me so much work creating all those instance variables.

maybe i need some kind of "global instance variable", a variable which is added automatically to every object in a famiyl...

Your help is highly appreciated!

Regards Patrick