How do I adding layer is performance killer ?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:31 am

hi,
i just see it when you add layer the fsp drop from 55 to 42
and cpu usage from 17% to 35%
what goes wrong ?
B
50
S
17
G
8
Posts: 816
Reputation: 8,579

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:11 am

Here is a useful post from Ashley:

Layers have virtually no performance impact unless you:

1) add a shader effect
2) change the opacity from 100%
3) change the blend mode to something other than "normal"
4) enable "force own texture"

All of the above will force the layer to render to an intermediate texture, which has a memory and GPU fillrate overhead. Note parallax has no effect, it does not cause this.


We would probably need to see your .capx to see what is really going on.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
141
S
31
G
88
Posts: 5,741
Reputation: 61,495

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:37 am

@zenox98
i don't use any of these effects ...
B
50
S
17
G
8
Posts: 816
Reputation: 8,579

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:42 am

zenox98 wrote:Here is a useful post from Ashley:

Layers have virtually no performance impact unless you:

1) add a shader effect
2) change the opacity from 100%
3) change the blend mode to something other than "normal"
4) enable "force own texture"

All of the above will force the layer to render to an intermediate texture, which has a memory and GPU fillrate overhead. Note parallax has no effect, it does not cause this.


We would probably need to see your .capx to see what is really going on.


can i pm you (and send you the capx)
thanks
B
50
S
17
G
8
Posts: 816
Reputation: 8,579

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:04 am

Sorry, no.

Have you tried the built-in debugger to see what is happeining?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
141
S
31
G
88
Posts: 5,741
Reputation: 61,495

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 1:35 pm

zenox98 wrote:Sorry, no.

Have you tried the built-in debugger to see what is happeining?


here is the capx
you can see by your self that adding layer drop the fsp and increase cpu usage
https://www.dropbox.com/s/mi3araxir22y2 ... .capx?dl=0
B
50
S
17
G
8
Posts: 816
Reputation: 8,579

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:51 pm

up bump
B
50
S
17
G
8
Posts: 816
Reputation: 8,579

Post » Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:39 am

@all
any idea ? did any one try the capx and see that the simple adding layer kill the fsp and cpu usage?
B
50
S
17
G
8
Posts: 816
Reputation: 8,579


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests