How do i apply the events to multiple instances

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:35 pm

dop2000 wrote:It's called ternary operator.
So you have 2 lines:
If dtp<=200 then set speed to 0
Else set speed to 150


You can write the same in one expression:
Set speed to (dtp<=200 ? 0 : 150)

dtp<=200 is a comparison statement
? means "if statement true then this value"
: means "if statement false then this value"
Thanks a lot, you are very good at explaining

It's a nice little trick that can really help de-cluttering your code. You can use & and | operators , nest several ternary operators one after another and write long expressions like this:
Set speed to (dtp<=200 | bee.IsFrozen ? 0 : (bee.IsSlowedDown ? 50 : 150))
Set damage to (dtp<=100 ? 500 : (dtp<=200 ? 200 : (dtp<=300 ? 100 : (dtp<=400 ? 50 : 10))))

& means AND
| means OR
B
8
Posts: 37
Reputation: 383

Post » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:34 pm

dop2000 wrote:It's called ternary operator.
So you have 2 lines:
If dtp<=200 then set speed to 0
Else set speed to 150


You can write the same in one expression:
Set speed to (dtp<=200 ? 0 : 150)

dtp<=200 is a comparison statement
? means "if statement true then this value"
: means "if statement false then this value"


It's a nice little trick that can really help de-cluttering your code. You can use & and | operators , nest several ternary operators one after another and write long expressions like this:
Set speed to (dtp<=200 | bee.IsFrozen ? 0 : (bee.IsSlowedDown ? 50 : 150))
Set damage to (dtp<=100 ? 500 : (dtp<=200 ? 200 : (dtp<=300 ? 100 : (dtp<=400 ? 50 : 10))))

& means AND
| means OR

i am running into another problem now i am trying to pin a separate hp bar over every bee. how could i do that. i tried using "for each bee" pin hpbar to bee but it pins all instances of the hp bar to one instance of a bee so i have a bee flying around with 3 hp bars that are weirdly positioned
B
8
Posts: 37
Reputation: 383

Post » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:07 pm

Add health bar to the same container where you have your bee and bee_box.
If you place bees manually (in editor) on your layout, then simply put a bar above each bee. You need to follow the order in which they were created though - bar with the lowest UID place over the bee with the lowest UID and so on.
In your event sheet pin health_bar to bee_box on start of layout (the same way as bee is pinned).
That's it.

If you create/spawn bees during the gameplay, they will be created with the health bar, because they are in the same container. You'll only have to pin it.
Check out my awesome game Doptrix
B
17
S
9
G
24
Posts: 473
Reputation: 14,495

Post » Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:58 pm

dop2000 wrote:Add health bar to the same container where you have your bee and bee_box.
If you place bees manually (in editor) on your layout, then simply put a bar above each bee. You need to follow the order in which they were created though - bar with the lowest UID place over the bee with the lowest UID and so on.
In your event sheet pin health_bar to bee_box on start of layout (the same way as bee is pinned).
That's it.

If you create/spawn bees during the gameplay, they will be created with the health bar, because they are in the same container. You'll only have to pin it.

Thank you, again
B
8
Posts: 37
Reputation: 383

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 25games, Ashley, leotardozc, TRMG and 19 guests