How do I build a signalling server

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:47 am

Hi,
Reading about MultiPlayer the Construct2 way, unfortunately the signalling server seems to be a block to progress.

If I am creating something commercial then I need to have control and ownership over any critical infrastructure. There may also be some potential clients who require the entire system infrastructure to be on secured servers - not accessible via the Internet or using any Internet hosted resources for normal operation.

Please advise when the signalling server source code will be made available.

Thank you.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 23
Reputation: 646

Post » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:24 pm

We will probably release the signalling server in the near future, but I can't promise a specific date right now.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,464

Post » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:27 pm

Righto - thank you Ashley, your rapid reply appreciated.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 23
Reputation: 646

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:35 am

xanxion wrote:Not having the possibility to restart a server or monitor it sucks.
What if it goes down? who is monitoring the scirra server?
And will we be notisfied if it goes down?

Id rather setup my own, and create some alert system via sms and email, and a control panel for restarting and monitoring.

This current setup is not a stable solution in the end... and i guess thats why we cant connect to to it from Denmark.. Its probably placed in US, and theres latency or something.. Over 12 people have tried. No luck..


Yes, I do agree with you.For the server is not mine, I have not right to do what I want.
B
5
Posts: 17
Reputation: 261

Post » Fri Oct 17, 2014 2:52 am

For the commercial purpose, not good to use the Scirra server, one should host his own server and scale as he wanted.
Image
B
48
S
11
G
1
Posts: 254
Reputation: 4,276

Post » Fri Oct 17, 2014 11:47 am

@socialpilgrim - you bumped an old thread with out of date information - the signalling server is now available.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,464

Post » Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:22 pm

Thanks Ashley, is it possible that I can use openpeer or peerjs or simplewebrtc ?
Image
B
48
S
11
G
1
Posts: 254
Reputation: 4,276

Post » Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:18 am

imho a signalling server should be included for free in the personal license as the debugger got.
I honestly dont want a masterserver hosted by a company . i need full control over the server , including logfiles etc.
B
27
S
7
G
3
Posts: 299
Reputation: 4,551

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David181, istero, webebiz and 1 guest