How do I (chain laser things)

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:16 am

Hi, I am new to construct, I started using it 3 weeks ago and everything was perfect... until now

There is this little game mechanic I would like to implement, where a core is supplying energy to nodes and, like, in chains and.. well.. a picture is worth a thousand words so, here we go :


here is the .cap file


Yeah I know, it's complicated..
I've tried different solutions but this is my better result(for now), and suddenly I realize I have a lot to learn (and probably a lot more), so, any suggestion to make it work ? a path I should follow ?

Posts: 3
Reputation: 256

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:33 pm

If you want the laser looks continous, then you shouldnt spawn them over and over, create just one per "zonenode", and set it's height\width and angle.

About the object picking. You should use families, if you do so, you can pick two instance in the same expression(so you can set the "start" and the "end" position of your laser.)
If you only want one laser per instance, just pick the closest object.

Hope it helped, if not, I can make an example later.
Posts: 127
Reputation: 2,481

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:47 pm

Thank you for your reply.

Your laser solution works fine, no more bullet behavior, but it create infinite object on the same spot. I tried to play with variable and thing but the only "good" result I could get is with "trigger once while true". Now my first node connected to the core is good, with one object laser spawned, but all the other nodes connected spawn object again and again and again and .. Is there a simple solution to spawn one object at a time when the event who create it is continuous ? (2 objects overlapping)

Here is the new .cap

For the object picking.. well.. I understand the logic in your words but I'am (unfortunately) unable to transform it in tangible construct event. I should go read some more tutorial.

And if you ask, yes (oh yes), an example would be greatly appreciated but I understand you have other thing to do.

Thank anyway for your help man.z3rokult2012-03-08 17:49:04
Posts: 3
Reputation: 256

Post » Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:28 am

Ok so, I found a way to do it. I am not sure this is the simplest solution but at the end it seems to work.

another new . cap
Posts: 3
Reputation: 256

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests