How do I Connect random generated nodes together??

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Easily generate many levels from a set of pre-built scenes (Construct 3 template)
  • I created a simple way of generating nodes, but I can't figure out a way to connect them in a logical way.

Here's the capx of what I have for the nodes: https://www.dropbox.com/s/on1krbh60y58u ... .capx?dl=0

I'm going to use the first node as my start and the furthest away as my exit later on.

I want to get something like this:

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • So you want to make a FTL-like random star map with lanes?

Turns out this is actually rather difficult. Difficult but not impossible. Took me ~3 hours to figure it out and I have some experience with doing random generation in construct. The solution involves a fair deal of loops, functions and some array operations. Not sure if there are simpler ways to do this.

First of all you need your lanes to know to what they connect, I added A and B variables which store the ID of nodes which the lane connects. Connecting them in a sensible manner is the tricky part.

Basic idea was: generate nodes, after nodes are generated create lanes to 3 nearest other nodes, after all lanes are generated you delete duplicate lanes. To find the 3 nearest node you need an event sequence that for each node stores the distance to all nodes (including itself) in y=0 and the node ID at y=1 in an array's x element. Then you sort the array by axis X, go through elements 1 to number of lanes and create lanes to them.

Hardest part was deleting duplicate lanes actually. Took me an hour before I figured it out, the solution was surprisingly simple and short.

Linked capx with my solution below, right click-release generates new node set. Please bear in mind that it has 2 problems which you will have to figure out yourself.