How do I create a circular cooldown display?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:25 pm

Hi! I was looking at some tutorials for healthbars and cooldown bars today but all of them were only bars and relatively simple. I have to admit that I am not very good at math and angle things (need to re-learn many things :oops: ) and wanted to ask if someone can give me some hints or post an example how to make a circular cooldown display on a button, please.
Bl4ckSh33p-Soft - Custom Software and Indie Games
B
S
G

Post » Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:09 pm

Hi,

here is one of many solutions.

circularcountdown0.1.capx

- xeed
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
S
G

Post » Fri Jun 20, 2014 9:32 pm

Thank you very much. It creates many objects and needs a lot of CPU, but its a good start. :)
B
S
G

Post » Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:51 pm

The canvas addon is usually the best option for drawing shapes.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
S
G

Post » Sat Jun 21, 2014 3:54 pm

I managed to do something like this earlier this morning by using 4 objects and 2 layers (to be exact one of them is an hud layer which is transparent that should be on top of the others, it is using XOR blend mode):

Basically there is 2 half circles red, and one halfcircle with the blend mode destination out (which basically erase what is under it on the same layer i ll call it the mask), the trick is to rotate the half circles to fill the circle, and make one of it go on top of the mask when needed, I cantry to make a capx with that if needed
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
S
G

Post » Sat Jun 21, 2014 4:06 pm

Thanks zatyka, but a solution without addons would be even better. But I will take a look at it.

An example capx would be great @Aphrodite.
B
S
G

Post » Sat Jun 21, 2014 4:25 pm

@Bl4ckSh33p