How do I create a ingame tutorial for the first time.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:45 pm

I want to have a tutorial that only appears the first time someone plays the game. Does anybody have an idea on how to get that done?
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:07 pm

Global Var + Local Storage. Create a variable "TUT = 0"

When first pressing the play button and have your player go through the tutorial/(s) (I'm going to assume these are a series of dialogue boxes) or when closing the last dialogue box of your tutorial, simply set 'TUT' to 1 and save that in local storage.
Set it so it never appears again if the value is 1.
Image Image Image
B
32
S
12
G
27
Posts: 761
Reputation: 17,244

Post » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:35 pm

Is it just a tutorial explaining movement controls or something more in depth?

For movement controls I usually include a controls button the main menu page that goes to a new layout and I use pics for buttons in case people using it do not read English.
Banned User
B
27
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,800

Post » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:58 pm

MPPlantOfficial wrote:Global Var + Local Storage. Create a variable "TUT = 0"

When first pressing the play button and have your player go through the tutorial/(s) (I'm going to assume these are a series of dialogue boxes) or when closing the last dialogue box of your tutorial, simply set 'TUT' to 1 and save that in local storage.
Set it so it never appears again if the value is 1.


I've set the value of TUT to 1 after the tutorial is finished. I also added "Set item 'TUT' to 'TUT'". Doesn't work.
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:59 pm

lamar wrote:Is it just a tutorial explaining movement controls or something more in depth?

For movement controls I usually include a controls button the main menu page that goes to a new layout and I use pics for buttons in case people using it do not read English.


It's explaining movement controls and it's an animation. I want it to appear the first time somebody plays the game.
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:13 pm

Yasharitsu wrote:
lamar wrote:Is it just a tutorial explaining movement controls or something more in depth?

For movement controls I usually include a controls button the main menu page that goes to a new layout and I use pics for buttons in case people using it do not read English.


It's explaining movement controls and it's an animation. I want it to appear the first time somebody plays the game.
e

Ok, I would create it in a seperate layout and use pictures to explain movement controls for people that don't read your language.

Make a button that says PLAY and when they have seen the instruction they push play to start the game events.

On Touch on Object PLAY: Go to layout GemeEvents
Banned User
B
27
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,800

Post » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:22 pm

lamar wrote:
Yasharitsu wrote:
lamar wrote:Is it just a tutorial explaining movement controls or something more in depth?

For movement controls I usually include a controls button the main menu page that goes to a new layout and I use pics for buttons in case people using it do not read English.


It's explaining movement controls and it's an animation. I want it to appear the first time somebody plays the game.
e

Ok, I would create it in a seperate layout and use pictures to explain movement controls for people that don't read your language.

Make a button that says PLAY and when they have seen the instruction they push play to start the game events.

On Touch on Object PLAY: Go to layout GemeEvents


The animation doesn't have any words in it. You see a phone and a Hand that do the things you have to do.
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:30 pm

MPPlantOfficial wrote:Global Var + Local Storage. Create a variable "TUT = 0"

When first pressing the play button and have your player go through the tutorial/(s) (I'm going to assume these are a series of dialogue boxes) or when closing the last dialogue box of your tutorial, simply set 'TUT' to 1 and save that in local storage.
Set it so it never appears again if the value is 1.


I've set the value of TUT to 1 after the tutorial is finished. I also added "Set item 'TUT' to 'TUT'". Doesn't work.
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RandomlyMooN and 8 guests