How do I create a LAN game without external signaling server

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:24 pm

Is it possible to create a LAN game without an external signalling server? If not, is is possible to set up a simple signalling server on your own LAN?

The goal being not requiring an internet connection to play a LAN game.
B
63
S
12
G
6
Posts: 456
Reputation: 8,969

Post » Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:28 pm

This is just speculations so might not work. :D

But you could try to setup a virtual machine and run a version on that, and see if you can connect to it.
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,828

Post » Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:55 pm

You can set up a server and configure it as a "localhost" on a LAN. I can't post the URL due to lack of rep. Just Google "localhost server" and you'll find a very good YouTube video on the subject. Not knowing about your OS version or LAN specifics, I can't offer further advice.
Last edited by SiriusCG on Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 208

Post » Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:59 pm

this page has an example of html5 with webrtc scanning for your ip and others in your local network.

The site I got it from speak a lot about potential security issues here.

From the looks of it, it should be totally possible, just needs an implementation in construct 2 multiplayer features I supose.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:59 pm

Hi ! Is there anything new someone can tell me about the implementation of this function ? Is there a plugin available ? Thank's :)
B
2
Posts: 3
Reputation: 156

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:54 am

superconrad wrote:Hi ! Is there anything new someone can tell me about the implementation of this function ? Is there a plugin available ? Thank's :)

It's available in the store. However I think this will require you to ask player to buy the signalling server if they want to play on LAN, I think the license will not allow you to distribute it as part of the game.
B
28
S
8
G
4
Posts: 553
Reputation: 4,914

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 5:17 pm

It's ok for me, the game i'm making is only intended to play in a lan with friends...
B
2
Posts: 3
Reputation: 156


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Darth Crusher, marcoscodas, Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests